Skip to main content
site header image

CPS LAR 101

Resources to support CPS LAR 101

Getting ideas for your research question & understanding the research process

The first step is always reading the syllabus instructions for your assignment.  Once you have clearly in mind what the parameters of the assignment are and when it is due, think about what aspect of the subject you are interested in and write out your research question. Circle the keywords in the question and try to think of synonyms for those words that you could use to searching for scholarly articles.

Use a research calculator to help you set goals and target dates, so that you finish on time and hand in a quality paper.

Go to Google and type in:  research calculator

An example of a research calculator is:  http://planner.bulibtools.net/

Use your assignment due date and read about the steps you will need to go through and how much time you need to budget to complete your assignment on time.

 

Databases that may be good for your assignment

Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, in addition to indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides full text for many of the most used nursing and allied health journals (more than 760) in the CINAHL index, with no embargo and dating back to 1937. In addition, it provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals in these fields. It offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League of Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of practice and much more.

 

Consumer Health Complete
Designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

 

Education Source
Indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals, and full text for more than 1,800 journals and 550 books and education-related conference proceedings, as well as citations for over 100,000 educational tests. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

 

ERIC
ERIC is the major index to literature in education. If you are looking for information about how caffeine may effect learning this would be a good source. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it provides full citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, curricula, government documents, dissertations, and research reports selected by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES). Full text is available for many research reports, and you may limit your search to show only results with free full text. Also available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts and FirstSearch.
1966-present

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

 

MEDLINE
The National Library of Medicine's index to scholarly literature in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the health care system, from 1994-present. MEDLINE links to the FirstSearch interface; this database can also be searched through the CSA interface and the NLM's free PubMed web interface.

 

ProQuest

Search one or more databases on this platform such as Biological Sciences, Physical Education Index, Sociological Abstracts, and others.

 

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields, going back to 1840. This database covers all areas of psychology, including experimental, developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, and behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine. Also includes citations for books and book chapters.

Help for writing citations

EasyBib helps you keep track of resources and quotations from those resources. EasyBib offers a note-taking space (Notebook) that helps you keep track of where you found a quote or particular ideas.  Be sure to check the citations against your Hacker Guide and correct for style rules.

APA Style blog also can help with your APA citation questions. All those little quirks that aren't addressed in the standard EasyBib templates are answered here by APA experts!

OWL APA Citation Help  The Purdue Writing Center has a great web page for APA style help.

APA Style Guide

Here's a link to the OWL APA Guide: 

How to links