This is the "Get Started" page of the "ART204: Visual Communication in History I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ART204: Visual Communication in History I  

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2013 URL: http://libguides.doane.edu/art_history Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research help

THERE ARE MANY WAYS TO GET HELP:


Vist us at the Reference Desk

Mon.-Thu.  8:00am-9:00pm

Fri.              8:00am-5:00pm

Sat.             12:00-4:00pm

Sun.            2:00-9:00pm


Call us

(during Reference Desk hours)

402-826-8287 


Text us

text START

to 402-965-0080


Email us

send your question to:

library@doane.edu


Chat with a Librarian

(available 24/7)

Explore your topic

Much of the time, an art history research project will start with an artist or artwork or genre already in mind. In that case, you need to start finding context for your subject. Before diving into journal articles or books, consider using Grove Art Online to place your subject in time, space, among other artists, and so on.

  • Grove Art Online (now Oxford Art Online)
    A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day! Features over 45,000 signed articles, 5,500 images, 40,000 image links, timelines of world art, MoMA lesson plans, and a link to Art Resource. Also includes access to the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
 

Search Credo

Credo Reference Online includes hundreds of reference sources like encyclopedias and handbooks. Two specialities of Credo are their Topic Pages and Concept Map. Topic Pages incorporate entries on a topicsubject from all sources within Credo, PLUS articles on the topic from library article databases, as well as books from the catalog. The Concept Map helps you visualize the facets of a topic and can provide you with subject terms you may not have thought of using.

   

Author Profile

Profile Image
Jayne Germer
Contact Info
Collection Development Librarian
Perkins Library
1014 Boswell Ave.
Crete NE 68333
402-826-8567
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip