Skip to main content
site header image

HIS496 - History Seminar

About this page

Now is a great time to be researching history!  Every day, more and more content that was previously accessible only in special collections and archives is now being scanned, digitized, and posted on the web.

Search for primary source documents both online and in the library catalog.

Doane College Archives

If you are doing research on a Doane topic, refer to the Doane University Archives research guide to access the directory of the archives.

Interlibrary loan requests

Use our interlibrary loan (ILL) form to request resources from other libraries around the nation:

Perkins Library ILL Request

Finding primary source documents in books

Finding books on historical topics in the online catalog

Search the library catalog to find books containing primary source resources.

Try adding one of the following words to your search to find collections of primary sources:

"documents," "sources," "letters," or "diaries"

e.g., "Korean War AND Sources"

"Civil War AND Diaries"

Finding primary sources in periodicals

These databases can lead you to magazine articles on historical, cultural and seminal events of the past 100+ years.

Once you've found a citation, request the article through Interlibrary Loan. Most articles are sent to us from other libraries within 1-3 days -- but plan for more time just to make sure.

Newspaper articles online

The Doane Library has a few databases that give you access to newspaper articles.

  • New York Times -- You must register for an account to have generally unlimited reading, though our subscription limits you to only 5 articles per day if published 1923-1980.
  • Wall Street Journal -- Read full-text articles from this newspaper from 1984 to today's issue.
  • Access World News -- This includes many newspapers and news transcripts for each state, regional and national news, as well as English-language international news sources. 
  • WestlawNext Campus Research -- Select "News" from the Content list, then navigate through articles by Reuters, or by state or international region.

Free-to-the-public sites you might search for historical newspapers include:

  • Chronicling America -- The Library of Congress provides free access to digitized newspapers from 1836-1922 and a newspaper directory for papers published in the U.S. from 1690-present. 
  • Google's Advanced News Archive Search in order to find scanned images from historical newspapers

Special Digitized Collections in the Doane Library

The library has purchased the following collections of primary source documents for your use:

Digitized Collections - Nebraska

Here are websites specific to Nebraska:

Digitized Collections - Beyond Nebraska

This is a representative list of history websites that might be helpful in your research. Ask at the Circulation Desk to consult the following books, which are in Course Reserves (under Dr. Jarvis' name), for more websites:

  • The American history highway : a guide to Internet resources on U.S., Canadian, and Latin American history, by Dennis Trinkle
  • The history highway : a 21st century guide to Internet resources, by Dennis Trinkle
  • U.S. history matters : a student guide to U.S. history online, by Kelly Schrum


Project Gutenburg

These collections give you free access to lots of historic texts:

Need help?

Chat with the library staff

We have a new chat service. Please look at the bottom of the screen for a chat button. You can chat with Doane's librarians during business hours. Outside of those hours, the chat button will become a convenient way to e-mail the librarians with your question.