Skip to main content
site header image

CPS LAR 101

Resources to support CPS LAR 101

Links to resources used in class

So many resources are used during our class time, it's no wonder you've forgotten what each is intended to be used for or where to even find them! Here's a list of those resources and their use:

 

  • How do I find academic articles in the library's databases? -- Academic Search Premier is a general, multi-disciplinary database that is quite useful. If you want to use a subject-specific database to find more articles, go to the Databases by Subject page on the Library's website, or ask a librarian for help.

 

  • Where can I find academic articles if I can't get into Doane's databases for some reason? -- Try Google Scholar

 

  • How can I find out if Doane has the full text of an article that I can't find on the internet? -- Our Full Text Finder (also known as Journals A-Z) can tell you which database provides full text for a journal.

 

  • How can I get materials that either aren't in the Doane library or available through the library's databases? -- Request articles, books, DVDs, etc. through our Interlibrary Loan service. Links to request materials are available in the catalog and many of our databases, but you can also make requests through the Interlibrary Loan Request Form or alternatively, send a whole list of citations to ill@doane.edu.

 

  • I need help with my citations! -- Try EasyBib EDU (register for an account to save your bibliographies, notes, etc.) or refer to the Purdue OWL website for APA style guide rules and sample citations.

 

  • I can't find the APA rule for my reference, now what? -- The APA Style Blog answers questions about APA beyond the basics.

 

  • What can happen to me if I'm accused of plagiarism in a Doane class? -- The Doane student handbook outlines what plagiarism is and what the consequences are for being caught doing so.

 

  • What if I have even more questions or am still confused about where to go? -- The Doane library staff is here FOR YOU!! Email us; use the chat bar at the bottom of this page; or check out the rest of this LAR101 research guide.