LibGuides: History: Find Articles

Journal Databases

Try these databases to find journal articles:

U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines about events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journals and magazines about events in world history, as well as other scholarly content.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Research significant people and events around the world and get multiple types of sources in one place: reference and academic journal articles, as well as primary source documents, images and videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search older full text articles from scholarly journals in more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly articles in any subject area; lots of full-text articles available.

Print indexes and bibliographies in the Library

These print indexes and sample subject bibliographies can be useful for finding historical periodical literature. Use the library's catalog to find other bibliographies (search the term bibliography as a subject in addition to your topic):

International Index (1907-1965) -- Indexes (at the end of Reference)
Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974) -- Indexes (at the end of Reference)
American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature -- Call no. BibRef Z6201 .A55 1995
A Checklist of American Eighteenth Century Newspapers in the Library of Congress -- Call no. Ref Z6951 .U47
Indian-White Relations in the United States: A Bibliography of Works Published 1975-1980 -- Call no. BibRef E92.U5 P67 1982

Interlibrary Loan Requests

Use our interlibrary loan (ILL) form to request resources from other libraries around the nation:

Perkins Library ILL Request

Google Scholar

This search engine can help find scholarly articles that have not been included in the library's databases. Be cautious, though! There is no guarantee that the articles have been peer reviewed; check the journal's website to find out what their review process is.