This guide will help you identify quality information resources for this field of study.
Last Updated: Jun 16, 2016
Here are a few tips to expand your research success:
- Try synonyms for your topic, and explore broader and narrower concepts.
- Pay attention to key terms and other subject headings in the databases.
- Always take a look at a work's references. Notice if there are authors that appear time and again; those are the experts on the topic.
Chat with the library staff:
Even a small library, like the one at Doane University, contains a lot of information on topics that you will cover in this course. You just need to figure out how to get to it! This guide was created to take a little of the mystery out of using the library's resources as you begin to do research on topics in the field of counseling.
If you're starting from scratch and don't know much about your topic, finding a good reference article can get you started in the right direction. It also might help you narrow the focus of your topic.
This list of electronic psychology reference resources are just some of those available to you through the library. Use the catalog to locate more -- OR go to Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference to do topic searches throughout the entire collection of reference works.
- Understanding Research in Clinical and Counseling Psychology (Routledge, 2003)
This book has chapter that is good for a basic understanding of the literature review and how to best use databases and the internet for searching. See "Reviewing the Literature and Evaluating Existing Data," chapter 11.
- Handbook of Professional and Ethical Practice for Psychologists, Counsellors, and Psychotherapists (Routledge, 2005)
Provides a supportive guide to the major professional, legal and ethical considerations faced by trainees on counselling and psychotherapy courses, as well as providing an invaluable resource for more experienced therapists.
- Handbook of Motivational Counseling: Concepts, Approaches, and Assessment (Wiley, 2004)
Presents empirically supported theories, questionnaires based on these theories and varied interventions based on these, with special emphasis on Systematic Motivational Counselling but also including chapters on such approaches as Personality Systems Interaction Theory, expectancy-based approaches, Motivational Interviewing, logotherapy and several others. -- from publisher
- Psychologists and Their Theories for Students (Gale, 2005)
Perfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis.-- from publisher
- Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science (Wiley, 2001)
This four volume encyclopedia is a standard reference in the field of psychology.
Jayne R. Germer
Learning & E-resources Librarian
1014 Boswell Ave.
Crete NE 68333
Watch these videos to learn how to navigate some of the basic tools available through the Doane library: