Skip to main content
site header image

Research Starter: Education

Reference articles on education topics

Sometimes you just need a broad overview of a topic to begin your research. Here are a few of the online resources the Doane library provides:

Using library databases from off campus

This first time you click on a link for any resource from the library, whether it's a link in the catalog or to a database, you will be prompted to login to the library's proxy server. You will recognize the Doane logo on the page; just enter your Doane login credentials on this page and you're in!

You don't need to login at any other time while you have your browser open (e.g., Chrome, Firefox, etc.). If you get any other login prompts, please contact the library for assistance.

Getting resources not owned by Doane

There will be times when you find citations to articles, books or other pieces of information but the full text of the material is not online or not available in the library's collections. This is the time to use the library's interlibrary loan system! Click on the link below and fill out the form using your Doane Gmail address. The library staff will locate and borrow the material for you from other libraries around the country and sometimes the world.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form

 

Questions about interlibrary loan:

  • What if I have several items I want to request? If you have a list of several citations to request you may email the list to the library, but please prioritize the list.
  • Do I have to use this form if I'm searching in a library database? Several of the databases will have an interlibrary loan or "request this item" link within the database that you can fill out instead. It all works the same!
  • How long does it take? A journal article typically takes 24-72 hours to be sent to your Doane email -- they're yours to keep. Books and other physical items can take 7-14 days to arrive; they'll be sent to wherever you request and then you return them in a timely manner to the nearest Doane campus.

Citing sources with a bibliographic manager

The Doane library recommends the following bibliographic managers to keep track of your references as you progress through your research:

  • EasyBib EDU -- Create citations for your reference list and get help with in-text citations. Contact the library to get the coupon code. It's free but you have to ask for it! (Note: This service will be ending in June 2018.)
  • Mendeley -- This is a free citation and resource manager. You can download documents with 2GB of free space.
  • Zotero -- Another free app to cite and organize your research, but with only 300MB of free space for saving documents.
  • Purdue OWL -- This isn't a bibliographic manager but you get great help writing citations in APA.

Need help?

Chat with the library staff

We have a new chat service. Please look at the bottom of the screen for a chat button. You can chat with Doane's librarians during business hours. Outside of those hours, the chat button will become a convenient way to e-mail the librarians with your question.