Last Updated: Jun 3, 2016
This book is the "go-to" resource for identifying the essential tools for doing research in literature. You will find it in the Reference condensed shelving area on the lower level of the library.
Literary Research Guide
Call Number: REF Z2011 .H34 2008
Publication Date: 2008
- Credo Reference
The Academic Core Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas.
- Gale Virtual Reference
Search this library of over 7,000 reference books for information on all kinds of topics, from celebrity biographies to literary criticism to bioethics. You can download PDFs of articles to your e-reader, or even translate articles in many different languages.
- Oxford Reference Online
Over 100 full text language and subject dictionaries and reference works. Topics covered include general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences, and business.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Widely acknowledged to be the most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of English in the world, the OED is the definitive record of English language development over the last fifteen hundred years. It traces the evolution of words through millions of quotations, and includes etymological analysis, variant spellings and pronunciation guides.
- American National Biography
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
This reference work provides 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. Includes extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes."
- Biography Reference Bank
This database offers the original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals, as well.
- Biography Reference Center
This database contains a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies from many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines such as Oxford's American National Biography and Biography Magazine.
Jayne R. Germer
Learning & E-resources Librarian
1014 Boswell Ave.
Crete NE 68333
Chat with the library staff: