Skip to main content
site header image

Encyclopedias, dictionaries & more

Reference works to give you background information and answers

Search Credo

   

Reference Articles

General Subject Encyclopedias

 

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Search the content of encyclopedias, a dictionary and thesaurus, a multimedia database with images, videos, and sound files, the Web's Best Sites, selected magazines and journals, country statistics from World Data Analyst, notable quotations, and Gateway to the Classics (a collection of works of Western history, literature, philosophy, and science).

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Part of EBSCO's Primary Search database, Funk & Wagnalls is a respected elementary school-level encyclopedia with articles written specifically for kids.

Subject Specific Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online
A portal offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location, OMO includes Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Oxford Art Online
The most extensive and easily searchable online art resource available today; a virtual art reference library of unparalleled scope and depth. An innovative gateway offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources: Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.