Skip to main content
site header image

Research Basics

This guide contains tips and tricks for general research success!

Need scholarly articles?

Start with these multi-subject databases. See the A-Z database listing for subject specific databases.

Need newspapers or magazines?

Use these databases to find local, national, and international news as well as articles from magazines. See the A-Z database listing for additional newspaper and magazine databases.

Need books or ebooks?

Need to learn about a topic?

The databases below are like the library's version of Wikipedia. You can use them to find trusted background information about topics you're less familiar with.

Need more help?

Check out our full list of Research Guides to get specialized guides for subjects and even some courses. 

Navigate through the rest of this guide to learn about each step in the research process and get links to additional useful resources.

And don't forget, you can always contact the library for personalized research assistance!

Phone: 402-826-8287

Email: library@doane.edu

Search Strategy Builder

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases' search boxes.

Concept 1 and Concept 2 and Concept 3
Name your concepts here    
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.