LibGuides: Counseling: Journal Articles

Counseling & Psychology Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for journals in psychology; coverage from 1985 to the present.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of psychology including educational psychology, plus indexing for many books and book chapters.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to full-text journal articles in many areas of psychology and counseling.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes companion file Social Services Abstracts

Other Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides reviews of over 2,700 commercially-available testing instruments in diverse areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly articles in any subject area; lots of full-text articles available.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find periodical and newspaper articles in all major subject areas, including Business, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as the Humanities and Fine Arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search older full text articles from scholarly journals in more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
Education Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search both ERIC and the full-text Education Database to get journal articles, books, dissertations, and more.
Education Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles and books for all levels of education, as well as thousands of educational tests.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Periodical article abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content pertaining to the many fields of communication studies.
PubMed with Doane Links This link opens in a new window
The primary source for scholarly information in the health sciences with links to full-text articles available through the Doane Library.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Find social science data in this huge computerized archive on topics including demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, public opinion. From the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).

Counseling Journals

The library has access to many journals in the field of counseling, mostly through the databases described above. Here are some of the titles available.

Journal of Counseling and Development Full-text access 1997-present
Cognitive Therapy and Research Full-text access delayed 1 year.
Journal of Mental Health Counseling Full-text available 1994-present
The Professional Counselor Full-text available 2011-present
Journal for Social Action in Counseling and Psychology Full text available March 2011 - present
Journal of School Counseling Full text available 2009-2021
Adultspan Full text available March 1999 - present
The Career Development Quarterly Full text available March 1994 - present
Counseling & Values Full text delayed 12 months
Counselor Education & Supervision Full text has 12 month delay
Journal of College Counseling Full text available 1998 - Oct. 2021
Journal of Employment Counseling Full text available with 12 month delay
The Journal of Humanistic Counseling Full text available with 12 month delay
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development Full text available with 12 month delay

Get Resources Not Available at Doane

There will be times when you find citations to articles, books or other pieces of information but the full text of the material is not online or not available in the library's collections. This is the time to use the library's interlibrary loan system! Click on the link below and fill out the form using your Doane Gmail address. The library staff will locate and borrow the material for you from other libraries around the country and sometimes the world.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form

Students in Nebraska may also get a library card at another college or university in the state for free through the Reciprocal Borrowing Program. This will be faster than using Interlibrary Loan for books.

Questions about interlibrary loan:

What if I have several items I want to request? If you have a list of several citations to request you may email the list to the library, but please prioritize the list.
Do I have to use the form above if I'm searching in a library database? Several of the databases will have an interlibrary loan or "request this item" link within the database that you can fill out instead. It all works the same!
How long does it take? A journal article typically takes 24-72 hours to be sent to your Doane email -- they're yours to keep. Books and other physical items can take 7-14 days to arrive; they'll be sent to wherever you request and then you return them in a timely manner to the nearest Doane campus.

Google Scholar: Linking to Library Resources

Expand your full text capabilities in Google Scholar by setting up links to the Perkins Library databases!

Make sure you are logged into Google via your Doane email account.
In Google Scholar -- https://scholar.google.com/ -- open the drop-down menu (the three horizontal lines in the upper left corner)
Select Settings
Select Library links
Search Doane -- or Doane University -- and select all of the options: Doane University - ProQuest Fulltext and Doane University - Find it at Doane. (Open Worldcat can be selected too if you wish.)
Make sure you click on Save!

Now you will be alerted when an article is available through Doane's databases. Here is an example:

Counseling

Find Articles in Other Databases

What's an "embargo"?