Skip to main content
site header image

LAR101: Climate Change & Science Communication

Find Articles

Library databases contain vast amounts of collected information. They will help you find sources that are tailored to your research topic. Below are some general databases to get you started on research, and some suggestions for subject specific databases that will help you find more information on your individual topic.

To see the full list of databases Doane subscribes to, please visit our A-Z Database Listing.

General Databases

Science and Communication Databases

Find Books

The Doane Library catalog is where you will go to find books and eBooks that can help you with your research project.

Database How-To

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases' search boxes.

Concept 1 and Concept 2 and Concept 3
Name your concepts here    
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.

You need to use keywords and Boolean logic when searching for materials in library databases.

Keywords describe the main ideas of your research question - think nouns or short phrases instead of whole questions. Boolean logic is a way to combine your keywords to make your searches more efficient. Boolean operators include AND (narrows your search), OR (broadens your search), and NOT (excludes terms to narrow further).

Watch this short video for an overview of the best way to search in a database:

Video Length: 1:28

Used with permission from the Ronald Williams Library at Northeastern Illinois University.