HIS 337 - American Women's History

Finding books in the online library catalog that are primary sources

Try adding one of the following words to your search to find collections of primary sources:

"documents," "sources," "letters," or "diaries"

For example: "suffrage movement AND letters" or "pioneers AND women AND diaries"

Newspaper articles online

The Doane Library has a few databases that give you access to many newspaper articles.

Databases for Multiple Sources

• America's News -- This includes many newspapers and news transcripts for each state, regional and national news, as well as English-language international news sources. 
  • Nebraska Newspapers -- Search 38 Nebraska city, town and college newspapers for stories published in the last 30+ years.
• Newspapers.com - Nebraska Collection -- Search 48 Nebraska newspapers, dating from the mid-1800s to the early 1900s
• ProQuest -- This large database includes two news databases -- US Newsstream and International Newsstream -- providing more recent news stories from the past 30-40 years, approximately. 
• MyHeritage -- This database provides access to many newspapers in the US and some other countries. It includes some of the newspapers in the Chronicling America project.

Single Source Databases

• Crete News -  Find local and area news in this weekly newspaper, from 1871 to 2017 or newer (updated occasionally).
• Doane Owl - Discover campus news from 1879 to 2019 (when this student paper went online).
• Omaha World-Herald - Explore Omaha and state history through the news, events and people in this collection. 
• New York Times -- You must register for an account to have generally unlimited reading, though our subscription limits you to only 5 articles per day if published 1923-1980. Issues of the NY Times from these dates also may be using the TimesMachine

Freely Available Collections

Free-to-the-public sites you might search for historical newspapers include:

• Chronicling America -- The Library of Congress provides free access to digitized newspapers from 1836-1922 and a newspaper directory for papers published in the U.S. from 1690-present. 
• Google's Advanced News Archive Search in order to find scanned images from historical newspapers
• Historical Worldwide Newspapers Online -- This Libguide from Bowling Green State University library lists many free online newspaper sites. NOTE: The guide is no longer maintained, therefore, some links may be broken.
• Europeana Newspapers -- This is a very large collection of historical European newspapers. In their original language, no translations.

The library has made available for your use the following special collections:

Doane University Archives

If you are doing research on a Doane topic, refer to the Doane University Archives research guide to access the directory of the archives.