When searching in news and article databases you will want to be as specific as possible. For example, if you are looking for sources related to Vietnamese Americans just searching for Vietnamese will return thousands of results. If you narrow your search to "Vietnamese Americans" AND Nebraska you will return much more specific results. You will also want to try searching for "Vietnamese Americans" and "health concerns" or "gender roles" etc. to find results related to specific issues each group is facing.
This database offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers, covering virtually every subject area of general interest. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
JSTOR keeps full-text backfiles to almost 850 scholarly journals from more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - IV, Arts & Sciences VII, and Biological Sciences collections. JSTOR tends to be best for older journal articles, and may not have articles published in the last 3-5 years.
Access World News - DISCONTINUED (use America's News or ProQuest Central)
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Doane community members have full-text access to the New York Times' internationally acclaimed multimedia journalism. Account creation required. Instructions available at:
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. This database includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.