Skip to main content
site header image

Library Basics

How to Access the Doane Library

Welcome to the Doane Library!

All Doane Students have access to online library materials. All you need is an internet connection!

You MUST access library e-resources from the library website (doane.edu/library) or a research guide (like the one you're using right now). After you click on the resource you want to use, if you are off campus, you will be asked to log in using your Doane credentials. This is the same login information you use for your Doane Gmail, Blackboard, etc. The login screen looks like this: 

Once you have logged in, you should be able to continue using library resources without having to log in again unless you close your internet browser.

If you are on campus and you want to use a library resource, you should not have to log in.

If you have trouble with access (from on or off campus) please contact library@doane.edu and a librarian will be happy to help you!

Database How-To

You need to use keywords and Boolean logic when searching for materials in library databases.

Keywords describe the main ideas of your research question - think nouns or short phrases instead of whole questions. Boolean logic is a way to combine your keywords to make your searches more efficient.

Boolean operators include AND (narrows your search), OR (broadens your search), and NOT (excludes terms to narrow further).

Watch this short video for an overview of the best way to search in a database:

Video Length: 1:28

Used with permission from the Ronald Williams Library at Northeastern Illinois University.

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases' search boxes.

Concept 1 and Concept 2 and Concept 3
Name your concepts here    
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.

Find Scholarly Articles

Start with these multi-subject databases. See the A-Z database listing for subject specific databases.

Need help?

Check out our full list of Research Guides to get specialized guides for subjects and even some courses. 

And don't forget, you can always contact the library for personalized research assistance!

Phone: 402-826-8287

Email: library@doane.edu