LibGuides: Agribusiness: Data &amp; Other Resources

ICPSR This link opens in a new window Find social science data in this huge computerized archive on topics including demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, public opinion. From the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
globalEDGE Database of International Business Statistics (DIBS) This link opens in a new window Search this source for business statistical data in 2,460 fields across specified years and countries. Free to academic users with .edu email address.

Agricultural Statistics Annual "Published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. Various USDA agencies collaborated in furnishing the information in these publications."
Census of Agriculture "A complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them from the USDA. Even small plots of land - whether rural or urban - growing fruit, vegetables or some food animals count if $1,000 or more of such products were raised and sold, or normally would have been sold, during the Census year. The Census of Agriculture, taken only once every five years, looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures. For America’s farmers and ranchers, the Census of Agriculture is their voice, their future, and their opportunity." Latest census is 2017.
USDA Economic Research Service "The Economic Research Service anticipates trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making. ERS research provides context for and informs the decisions that affect the agricultural sector, which in turn benefits everyone with efficient stewardship of our agricultural resources and the economic prosperity of the sector."
USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System "ESMIS contains over 2,100 publications from five agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics." Site developed and maintained at Cornell University.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service "NASS conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples."
FAO Statistics The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) is "dedicated to collecting, analysing, interpreting and disseminating food and agriculture statistics that are relevant for decision-making." They inform decisions, policies and investments that tackle issues related to food and agriculture, from hunger and malnutrition to rural poverty, from food systems productivity to the sustainable use of natural resources or to climate change."

USDA Market News "Provides the industry with key wholesale, retail and shipping data. The reports give farmers, producers and other agricultural businesses the information they need to evaluate market conditions, identify trends, make purchasing decisions, monitor price patterns, evaluate transportation equipment needs and accurately assess movement."
World Agricultural Outlook Board Commodity Markets The WAOB "serves as USDA’s focal point for economic intelligence and the commodity outlook for U.S. and world agriculture. It coordinates, reviews, and approves the monthly World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates (WASDE) report, as well as the Department’s annual, ten-year agricultural commodity market projections. It also releases annual projections covering agricultural commodities, trade, and aggregate indicators of the sector for the next decade. The monthly World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates Report and the long-run projections are available in the Agricultural Baseline Report. In addition, in February each year, USDA Chief Economist releases preliminary projections for domestic supply and demand of agricultural commodities at USDA’s Agricultural Outlook Forum."
World Production, Markets and Trade Reports From the USDA Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS)
AgWeb AgWeb is Farm Journal's online "news on crop and livestock farming, live future trading information, weather forecasts, market analysis, ag policy and more."
Agricultural Futures and Options Information from the Chicago Mercantile Exchange.by product on futures and options for agriculture commodities.
Intercontinental Exchange Provides futures and options plus other reports and data from markets around the globe.
Ag Markets Market information found on the farms.com web portal.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

EDGAR Provided by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR allows you to search for public company financial information and operations information filed with the SEC.
Industry Information Resources Resource guides provided by Valuation Resources. They identify sources of industry information, research, and analysis for more than 400 industries, including: industry analysis, trends, statistics, and forecasts, financial statements and financial ratios, compensation and salary surveys, and business valuation resources.

Use these codes to research agricultural industries.

NOTE: Since 2000, the SIC is being phased out in favor of the NAICS.

Legal Databases (library subscription):

Free Ag Law and Policy Sites:

FAOLEX FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest online repositories of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management. Users of FAOLEX have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each text, as well as to the full text of the legislation and policies contained in the database.
National Agricultural Law Center The National Agricultural Law Center at the University of Arkansas is an independent, federally funded, nonpartisan research and information center that serves as the nation's leading source of agricultural and food law research and information. one of the most popular service is the complete collection of digitized farm bills from the original in 1933 to the most recently enacted 2008 version. Legislative history of each of the farm bills, research articles, and links to outside sources concerning the farm bills are included in this section.Comprehensive reference library sorted by topic, such as agricultural leases, agri-tourism, animal feeding operations, food labeling, local food systems, and pesticides.
Agricultural Law Information Partnership A collaboration between the National Agricultural Library, National Agricultural Law Center (NALC) and the Center for Agriculture and Food Systems (CAFS) at Vermont Law School. It supports the dissemination of agricultural and food law information to consumers, researchers and legal professionals.
Agricultural Employment at the U.S. Dept. of Labor Includes links to web pages on agricultural employment, and laws & regulations.
FarmCommons.org Resources on workers, business structures, land matters, food safety, sales & contracts, value-added tourism, and insurance.
Farmers' Legal Action Group "Farmers’ Legal Action Group (FLAG) is a nonprofit law center dedicated to providing legal services and support to family farmers and their communities in order to help keep family farmers on the land."
Farmland Information Center The Farmland Information Center (“FIC”) is a clearinghouse for information about farmland protection and stewardship. Includes legal information in areas including farm transfer and estate planning, farmland protection, farm bill, conservation, and land leasing. Use the top navigation menu to access their rich information on laws, literature (articles, books, reports) and statistics.
Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy The Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy (“IATP”) is a non-profit organization promoting fair and sustainable food, farm, and trade systems. Issues include agricultural technology, climate change, agroecology, farm bill, energy, food justice, rural development, and industrial meat.
USDA Economic Research Service Covers various topics; includes reports, data, and articles.
National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition An advocacy organization that seeks federal policy reform to “advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities.” In particular, their website provides information on “Marketing, Food Systems & Rural Development,” including local and regional food systems, organic production, farm-to-school programming, and food security issues.