Skip to main content
site header image

LAR101: Taking a Stance

Library Catalog

Books are a great source of in-depth information about a broad or complex topic. Because they are longer works, books can place a topic in a larger context by providing multiple viewpoints, historical context, or interdisciplinary perspectives. The Doane Library catalog is where you will go to find books and eBooks that can help you with your research project. 

Contemporary World Issues E-Books

The Death Penalty

This book addresses the myriad controversies and examines the evidence regarding capital punishment in America. It answers questions regarding topics like the efficacy of capital punishment in deterring violent crime, the risks of mistakes, legal issues related to capital punishment, and the monetary costs of keeping inmates on death row.• Presents'Perspectives'from various writers, allowing readers to consider opinions from many informed individuals—including judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys, and professors—who are concerned with capital punishment• Supplies easy-to-understand information for general readers seeking to learn more about the history, purposes, effects, methods, and costs of capital punishment• Provides a balanced, objective discussion of the arguments and complex issues regarding capital punishment, enabling readers to reach their own opinions and conclusions.

Substance Abuse

This go-to resource on substance abuse supplies the broad background knowledge and historical information needed to understand this important sociological issue and provides readers with a range of additional sources for continuing their study of the topic.• Offers a broad introduction to the physiological, anatomical, and psychological changes associated with substance use and a variety of perspectives from subject experts with special knowledge of and/or experience with substance abuse problems• Provides an easily accessible list of nearly 100 books, articles, reports, and electronic sources with additional information on the topic of substance abuse• Addresses sociological aspects of drug use and the current debate over the legalization of certain drugs, such as medical and recreational marijuana• Includes a collection of relevant data and documents, an extensive annotated bibliography, a chronology, and a glossary.

Prisons in the United States

Offering perspectives from a range of experts, both academic and nonacademic, this reference book examines the development of prisons in the United States and addresses the principal contemporary issues and controversies of our prisons and prison systems.• Presents a comprehensive yet succinct history of the development of men's and women's prisons in the United States • Offers a range of author perspectives that identify and explore the principal issues associated with prisons and imprisonment• Documents the shift from an intent to reform inmates in prisons to retribution and an attempt to remove all criminals from society, using prisons for'warehousing'of undesired elements• Provides a complete reference guide for the understanding of prisons and imprisonment as a punishment.

Prescription Drug Abuse

This outstanding resource guide for students and young adults provides an introduction to the history of prescription drug abuse that explains how this problem has arisen and examines the social, political, economic, and health issues associated with prescription drug abuse in modern society.• Explains the dangers associated with the use of prescription drugs for nonmedical purposes• Provides a detailed introduction for readers seeking to learn about the topic of prescription drug abuse and serves as an research tool for school projects• Includes thought-provoking perspective essays from individuals involved in the discussion of how to address prescription drug abuse• Supplies primary source documents in the form of excerpts from laws, administrative rulings, and court cases regarding prescription drug abuse as well as a glossary of key terms used in discussing the topic of prescription drug abuse.