Primary Sources - HIS 321 - American Race Relations

Primary Sources in Books

Finding books in the online library catalog that are primary sources

Try adding one of the following words to your search to find collections of primary sources:

"documents," "sources," "letters," or "diaries"

For example: "memoir AND Indians of North America" or "civil rights AND diaries"

Newspapers Online

The Doane Library has a few databases that give you access to newspaper articles.

New York Times -- You must register for an account to have generally unlimited reading, though our subscription limits you to only 5 articles per day if published 1923-1980.
America's News -- This includes many newspapers and news transcripts for each state, regional and national news, as well as English-language international news sources.
- Ethnic Newspapers -- Current newspapers published by or for various ethnic groups within the US.
- Nebraska Newspapers -- Search 38 Nebraska city, town and college newspapers for stories published in the last 30+ years.
Newspapers.com - Nebraska Collection -- Search 48 Nebraska newspapers, dating from the mid-1800s to the early 1900s
WestlawNext Campus Research -- Select "News" from the Content list, then navigate through articles by Reuters, or by state or international region.
ProQuest -- This large database includes two news databases -- US Newsstream and International Newsstream -- providing more recent news stories from the past 30-40 years approximately.
MyHeritage -- This database provides access to many newspapers in the US and some other countries. It includes some of the newspapers in the Chronicling America project.

Free-to-the-public sites you might search for historical newspapers include:

Chronicling America -- The Library of Congress provides free access to digitized newspapers from 1836-1922 and a newspaper directory for papers published in the U.S. from 1690-present.
Google's Advanced News Archive Search in order to find scanned images from historical newspapers

Special Digitized Collections in the Doane Library

The library has made available for your use the following special collections:

Gateway to North America: People, Places and Organizations of 19th-century New York This link opens in a new window
Search this collection for resources concerning New York City's social and economic history from the late 1700s through the early 1900s.
Civil War Primary Source Documents This link opens in a new window
Research perspectives of the Civil War (1861 to 1865) from both the North and South, in this collection of primary materials.
MyHeritage This link opens in a new window
Research genealogy from the census data of several countries, vital statistics records, military and immigration records and much more.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law This link opens in a new window
Research the subject of slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world with this collection of legal sources, including statutes and court cases, pamphlets and books.

Independent Voices
This is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Websites

African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship
This exhibit at the Library of Congress explored black America's quest for equality from the early national period through the twentieth century.
Black Past
BlackPast.org is an online reference center, which makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet.
Black Quotidian: Everyday History in African American Newspapers
Drawing on an archive of digitized African-American newspapers, this website from Stanford University Press explores everyday lives of African Americans in the twentieth century.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Works Project, 1936 to 1938
This digital collection from the Library of Congress contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA).
Civil Rights Digital Library
The CDRL promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets
Great for images, video as well as primary documents. One collection example is Exodusters: African American Migration to the Great Plains
National Archives: African American History
The National Archives and Records Administration holds a wealth of material documenting the Black experience.
National Archives: Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month
May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month. The National Archives and Records Administration holds a wealth of material documenting the Asian and Pacific Islander experience.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Digital collections from the Schomburg Center

HIS 321 - American Race Relations