Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

English Research Starter

Search the catalog

Bibliographies

One great source for doing research is a bibliography on works about your topic. The library has many bibliographies on various topics located in the Reference condensed shelving following the "regular" reference books; their call numbers begin with BIB REF.

In addition, you may wish to consult these annual bibliographies, to which the library subscribes:

 

Dissertations and Theses

Master's theses and doctoral dissertations also can be good sources of information. Just remember that these generally are only "published" by their institution, which is not the same as being published by a reputable publisher.

The library subscribes to one dissertation database:

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations. 

Interlibrary loan requests

Use our interlibrary loan (ILL) form to request resources from other libraries around the nation:

Perkins Library ILL Request