Communication Studies Research Starter

From the University of Wales, Aberystwyth. A well-organized, searchable collection of links to Web content on a wide variety of topics including gender and ethnicity, news media, advertising, film studies, visual images, textual analysis, media influence, and more.

Database of over 5,000 speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, and interviews.

1848-
A searchable archive of selected women's speeches worldwide from 1848 on, sponsored by Sweet Briar College.

Browse by subject or author for over 500 speeches. Presented in video format.

Hosted by the American Public Media Group, this site provides audio and transcripts of speeches by prominent African Americans from Booker T. Washington to Barack Obama.

Includes a "nonverbal dictionary" with images and information about gestures and body language cues.

From the Reporter's Committee for Freedom of the Press and edited by Gregg P. Leslie, this online handbook provides detailed analysis of constitutional law issues as they relate to the practice of journalism. Sections cover access to courts, places and people, the Freedom of Information Act, confidentiality, surreptitious recording, libel, invasion of privacy, prior restraint, and copyright.

The Web site of a non-partisan foundation devoted to free speech and freedom of the press. Includes online exhibits from the Newseum, a museum of news media, graphic images of front pages from around the world updated daily, and the latest news and analysis of first amendment issues.