Search this catalog for books and other materials in the Doane Library. If our library doesn't have what you're looking for, you can switch your search to Libraries Worldwide and request materials be sent to you through InterLibrary Loan.
Subject-specific reference books are available at Perkins Library. They are worth a trip to the library in order to get a concise, authoritative overview of your science topic as you begin your research. This list represents just a sampling of the many print reference books available in the Library. Search the library's catalog, or browse the Q through T section of the Reference collection to find more science reference books.
Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia by 
History of modern science and mathematics by 
The Oxford companion to the history of modern science by 
Encyclopedia of science, technology, and ethics by 
Concise encyclopedia biochemistry and molecular biology by 
Encyclopedia of biodiversity by 
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics by You can find physical books as well as eBooks in the Doane library catalog. To search for books, start at the Doane library website, web.doane.edu/library. In the discovery tool search box, click “Books” to limit your results to only books. Then, type your terms into the box and click the blue magnifying glass to search.
Your results will include books in both physical and electronic format, so if you are only looking for a certain format, you can use the limiters on the left side of the results screen to filter your results.
To read an eBook, simply click on the "View eBook" button and you will be taken right to a page where you can access the full text of the book.
If you want to check out a physical book, first make sure it says “Available." You will need to make note of the call number, come to Perkins Library, find it in the stacks, then check it out at the circulation desk using your Doane ID as your library card. If you have trouble finding the book in the stacks, just ask a library staff member for help!
We have some books in both print and electronic format. For those records, you will see both the View eBook button, and the location in the library with call number - it's great to have options!
