LibGuides: Psychology Research Starter: News Sources

PsycPORT: Psychology Newswire

Looking for a topic to follow in the news? Check out the news feed from the American Psychological Association.

News Sources in the Library

DATABASES

These are some of the databases at the Doane Library where you can find current news articles. Most contain only the articles' text and no photos or illustrations.

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Find credible news from around the United States from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources, including the Omaha World-Herald.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Get access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring more than 660 newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Some of the world's top newspapers included are: The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. This database includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.

INDIVIDUAL NEWS TITLES

The Library subscribes to the following individual newspapers. Online access may be limited by password; contact the Library for assistance.

Lincoln JournalStar
Password needed to access articles.
Omaha World-Herald
Password needed to access articles.
New York Times
Set up user account at http://libguides.doane.edu/nytimes

Education Week This link opens in a new window
Content in this premium access license is not included in databases which index Education Week.

Searching for News in Google

Save some time searching for news articles in Google! Once you've entered your search terms and have the results, limit them by clicking on the News link below the search box.

If you want to further limit the results, click on Tools. Now you can select to see articles by any length of time such as the last 24 hours, one week or one year. You can even select a specific date range if that would be more helpful.