LibGuides: LAR101: American Experiences: Find Articles

Scholarly Article Databases

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search for sources in the social sciences, natural sciences, and humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search older full text articles from scholarly journals in more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers, covering virtually every subject area of general interest. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Includes Sociological Abstracts database.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of psychology including educational psychology, plus indexing for many books and book chapters.
Criminology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. Includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, plus indexing and full-text coverage of scholarly journals.
Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Periodical article abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content pertaining to the many fields of communication studies.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search this collection which includes all the databases in the sciences and technology areas such as biology, engineering, earth sciences, public health and safety, etc.
Science & Technology Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text for hundreds of leading scholarly journals covering a wide-array of scientific and technological subject areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 publications.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search the AGRICOLA, ESPM and EIS (Environmental Impact Statements) databases jointly using this database. Provides full-text titles including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. The database also includes resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature to conduct comprehensive literature reviews in the discipline.

Education Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search both ERIC and the full-text Education Database to get journal articles, books, dissertations, and more.
Education Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles and books for all levels of education, as well as thousands of educational tests.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
This is the standard index to literature in education, from the U.S. Department of Education. Use Education Collection to search ERIC along with ProQuest's Education Database for more results.

Newspaper Databases

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Find credible news from around the United States from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources, including the Omaha World-Herald.

To locate editorial pieces enter your search term(s) in the first box. Remember to use quotation marks around anything you want to search as a phrase. In the second or third row (depending on how many search terms you have) select Section and write editorial to bring back editorial pieces.

Search Strategy Builder

Try the search strategy builder to see how to combine your keywords. This tool is not a database and will not run a search, but you can copy and paste the results into a database to run a search.

Concept 1

and

Concept 2

and

Concept 3

Name your concepts here

Search terms

List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

Get Access

If you find an article citation without access to the full text, try one of these tips:

Go to the Journals A-Z page and use the article search tab. Fill in all the information from the article citation. If the Library has access to the article in full text, the link(s) will be listed. You may also search just for the journal title. If you search this way you will have to navigate to the correct issue as listed in the citation for the article you are looking for.
Check Google Scholar for a PDF copy of the article. Paste the full title of the article into the search box for the best results. You may find a pdf from a trusted source. You can connect your Google Scholar account to the Doane Library for links back to our collection.
First two options didn't work? Request the article through interlibrary loan! Most journal articles will be delivered via email within 1-2 business days. (Books or anything that needs to be mailed will take longer, so plan accordingly.)