CST 210 Foundations of Computational Science

The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.

Search 10.3 million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories

NIST produces the Nation’s Standard Reference Data (SRD). These data are assessed by experts and are trustworthy such that people can use the data with confidence and base significant decisions on the data. NIST provides 49 free SRD databases and 41 fee-based SRD databases. SRD must be compliant with rigorous critical evaluation criteria.

OSF is a free, open source service of the Center for Open Science.

The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description.

GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and research infrastructure funded by the world’s governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.

The EDI Data Portal contains environmental and ecological data packages contributed by a number of participating organizations.

GES DISC archives and supports data sets applicable to several NASA Earth Science Focus Areas including: Atmospheric Composition, Water & Energy Cycles, and Climate Variability.

GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences (Nucleic Acids Research, 2013 Jan;41(D1):D36-42). GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.

A comprehensive, integrated, non-redundant, well-annotated set of reference sequences including genomic, transcript, and protein.

The mission of the Influenza Research Database (IRD) is to provide a resource for the influenza virus research community that will facilitate an understanding of the influenza virus and how it interacts with the host organism, leading to new treatments and preventive actions. This resource will contain avian and non-human mammalian influenza surveillance data, human clinical data associated with virus extracts, phenotypic characteristics of viruses isolated from extracts, and all genomic and proteomic data available in public repositories for influenza viruses.

The National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research.

Includes data related to aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, computer engineering, bio mechanical engineering, and more

Includes data related to acoustics and waves, optical physics, thermodynamics, quantum mechanics, and more

For over 50 years, NIST has developed and distributed Standard Reference Data in Chemistry, Engineering, Fluids and Condensed Phases, Material Sciences, Mathematical and Computer Sciences and Physics.