LibGuides: ENG 200: Intro to Literary Studies: Find Resources

Biographies & Dictionaries

Biography Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies from many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines such as Oxford's American National Biography and Biography Magazine.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Widely acknowledged to be the most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of English in the world, the OED is the definitive record of English language development over the last fifteen hundred years. It traces the evolution of words through millions of quotations, and includes etymological analysis, variant spellings and pronunciation guides.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find periodical and newspaper articles in all major subject areas, including Business, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as the Humanities and Fine Arts.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar indexes a wide variety of academic and professional sources, including "grey literature" such as conference proceedings.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search older full text articles from scholarly journals in more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Modern Language Association's database covers literature, language, linguistics, folklore (including music), dramatic arts, and much more. There is full-text for over 1,000 journal titles in the database.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Doane Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for books, journal articles, music CDs and scores, and more through our catalog.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Subject coverage
Business & economics
Computers & IT
Education
Engineering & technology
History & political science
Humanities
Interdisciplinary & area studies
Language, literature & linguistics
Law, international relations & public policy
Life sciences
Medical
Nursing & allied health
Physical sciences
Psychology & social work
Religion, philosophy & classics
Sociology & anthropology
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of eBooks. Individual titles are listed in the online catalog, but this link is the best place to search the contents of those books.

If you find an article citation without access to the full text, try one of these tips:

Go to the Journals A-Z page and use the article search tab. Fill in all the information from the article citation. If the Library has access to the article in full text, the link(s) will be listed. You may also search just for the journal title. If you search this way you will have to navigate to the correct issue as listed in the citation for the article you are looking for.
Check Google Scholar for a PDF copy of the article. Paste the full title of the article into the search box for the best results. You may find a pdf from a trusted source. You can connect your Google Scholar account to the Doane Library for links back to our collection.
First two options didn't work? Request the article through interlibrary loan! Most journal articles will be delivered via email within 1-2 business days. (Books or anything that needs to be mailed will take longer, so plan accordingly.)