LibGuides: LAR101: Heroes: Find Scholarly Articles

Library Databases for Scholarly Articles

General Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find periodical and newspaper articles in all major subject areas, including Business, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as the Humanities and Fine Arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search older full text articles from scholarly journals in more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries.

Subject-Specific Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of psychology including educational psychology, plus indexing for many books and book chapters.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Periodical article abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content pertaining to the many fields of communication studies.
Education Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search both ERIC and the full-text Education Database to get journal articles, books, dissertations, and more.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches databases PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA), covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more.
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Includes Sociological Abstracts database.

Search Strategy Builder

Try the search strategy builder to see how to combine your keywords. This tool is not a database and will not run a search, but you can copy and paste the results into a database to run a search.

Concept 1

and

Concept 2

and

Concept 3

Name your concepts here

Search terms

List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

Get Access

If you find an article citation without access to the full text, try one of these tips:

Go to the Journals A-Z page and use the article search tab. Fill in all the information from the article citation. If the Library has access to the article in full text, the link(s) will be listed. You may also search just for the journal title. If you search this way you will have to navigate to the correct issue as listed in the citation for the article you are looking for.
Check Google Scholar for a PDF copy of the article. Paste the full title of the article into the search box for the best results. You may find a pdf from a trusted source. You can connect your Google Scholar account to the Doane Library for links back to our collection.
First two options didn't work? Request the article through interlibrary loan! Most journal articles will be delivered via email within 1-2 business days. (Books or anything that needs to be mailed will take longer, so plan accordingly.)