LibGuides: Latin American Culture and Civilization : Home

Introduction

This guide should help you navigate the library's online reference books, databases, and e-books to find information about your country's culture and customs. Be aware that it does not have everything listed that is available in the library, but gives you an idea of what you might find here.

Please ask the library staff for help if you don't find what you need!

Online Reference Books

These online reference books are just some of the resources you may find helpful in Gale Virtual Reference Library:

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. (from website)
Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. (from website)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more. (from website)
SELECT V. 2 TO FIND LATIN AMERICAN COUNTRIES.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. (from website)
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World
Provides comprehensive coverage of the foods and recipes from 70 representative countries and culture groups worldwide -- from Algeria to Zimbabwe. Entries provide 10-15 recipes for each group and include data on the agriculture and dietary habits of each group as well as an overview of each group's nutrition and health. (from website)

Other Online Sources

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
HOW TO FIND YOUR COUNTRY: Through the World Map, browse to find a country's "portal page"; or enter the country's name in the search box to get the portal page. This page has an overview of the country, academic articles, statistics about the country, global viewpoints articles and news, reference articles, and a lengthy country profile (link at the bottom of the Quick Facts box).

Subject Guide

Jayne Germer

She, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Perkins Library
1014 Boswell Ave
Crete NE 68333

402.826.8567

Subjects: Counseling & Human Relations, Criminal Justice, Education, History, International Studies, Law, Politics, and Society, Multidisciplinary Resources, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology