LibGuides: Music Research Starter: Music Education

How to find library materials

Books in Print for Music Educators

In addition to the resources listed below, check the library catalog for other books on music education.

One series you may wish to consult is Teaching Music through Performance. Each volume has several chapters on teaching technique and other topics.

The Oxford Handbook of Music Education, Volume 1 by Gary E. McPherson (Editor); Graham F. Welch (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .O93 2012 V.1
ISBN: 9780199730810
Publication Date: 2012-08-08
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education, Volume 2 by Gary McPherson (Editor); Graham Welch (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .O93 2012 V.2
ISBN: 9780199928019
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Dictionary of Music Education by Mark C. Ely; Amy E. Rashkin
Call Number: REF MT1 .E49 2005
ISBN: 9781579994662
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Music Research: A Handbook by Laurie J. Sampsel
Call Number: ML113 .S28 2009
ISBN: 9780195171198
Publication Date: 2008-02-25
Library Research Guide to Music by John E. Druesedow
Call Number: BibRef ML111 .D78 1982
ISBN: 9780876501399
Publication Date: 1982-01-01

E-Books on Music Education Research

Here are just a few titles that you may wish to check out for doing research. Other ebooks can be found in the library's catalog, or you might go to the EBSCO ebooks database directly.

E-Journals of Interest to Music Educators

Databases for Topics Related to Music and/or Education

Although these databases are not strictly music-related, you may find them helpful to research topics that relate to music and music education.

Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Periodical article abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content pertaining to the many fields of communication studies.
Education Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles and books for all levels of education, as well as thousands of educational tests.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
This is the leading education database, with abstracts for over 1,000 education journals from 1966 to the present.

MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is relevant for health topics. Includes citations and abstracts for 4,800 international biomedical journals, mostly in English.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides reviews of over 2,700 commercially-available testing instruments in diverse areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Modern Language Association's database covers literature, language, linguistics, folklore (including music), dramatic arts, and much more. There is full-text for over 1,000 journal titles in the database.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for journals in psychology; coverage from 1985 to the present.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles in all areas of psychology including educational psychology, plus indexing for many books and book chapters.

Subject Guide

Cali Biaggi

Email Me

Contact:

cali.biaggi@doane.edu

402.826.8224