LibGuides: Sociology: Find Articles

Sociology Databases

Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Includes Sociological Abstracts database.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in all the social sciences. Select subject-specific databases for more focused searches.

Multidisciplinary Databases

This broader databases include a lot of sociological journals.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly articles in any subject area; lots of full-text articles available.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search for sources in the social sciences, natural sciences, and humanities.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search older full text articles from scholarly journals in more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries.

Databases for Related Subjects

CRIMINOLOGY

Criminology Collection This link opens in a new window
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. Includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, plus indexing and full-text coverage of scholarly journals.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Research magazine, trade and scholarly journals for articles on law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.

GENDER STUDIES

Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.

DIVERSITY STUDIES

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

PSYCHOLOGY

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for journals in psychology; coverage from 1985 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to full-text journal articles in many areas of psychology and counseling.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.

Get Access to Full Text Articles

Sometimes you'll have a citation for an article but the database doesn't give you the full text of the article. How do you get the full article? Here are two options to try:

JOURNAL FINDER

Find out if another database has the full text of an article

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Get an article at no cost from another library

Google Scholar

Believe it or not, librarians encourage you to use Google Scholar for your academic research! There are many full-text articles available through Scholar that we don't have access to except by borrowing them from other libraries.

How can I find out if an article on Google Scholar is available through the Doane Library?

The library's databases are linked with Google Scholar to provide access to articles and books at Doane. It takes just a few moments to setup!

You should be logged into your Doane Google account, i.e., your Doane email, to apply settings in Scholar.
Go to scholar.google.com
Click on the 3 horizontal bars in the upper left corner of Scholar to open the menu.
Click on Settings, then Library links.
Enter "Doane" in the search box; two Doane University options should appear. Select both to take full advantage of the library's materials.
Make sure to save!

Now you can search for scholarly articles and books, and see which ones Doane has access to!

The "Find it at Doane" link will take you to the Library's journal search service. Click on "View Full Text" to access the article.
The "ProQuest Full Text" link takes you directly to the article in the ProQuest database.

How can I get an article listed in Google Scholar if it doesn't have a link to Doane or a PDF?

Even if the article you want is not available through the Library's databases or doesn't have a free PDF, you can still get a copy of the article through the Library at no charge!

Click on the "Cite" link below the article's information then copy (Ctrl + C on PC or Command +C on Mac) the APA-style citation.
Open the Interlibrary Loan Request Form and login with your Doane username and password.
Now you can paste the information from the citation into the corresponding fields. This takes a little work to select/drag or copy/paste, and you need to know how to read an APA citation to put them in the correct fields. Requests must have information in at least four fields: Journal title, Date, Title of article and Author of article.
Once you click on "Submit request" the library staff will obtain the article from another library and email it to your Doane Gmail address, usually within 2 days.

Sociology

Library Activities

Activity 1

Activity 2

Library Session Wrap-up

What did you learn?