Skip to main content
site header image

Doane University Archives Finding Aids

Guides to some of the collections held by Doane University Archives.

01- Forerunners Box Inventory Lists

The Forerunners Collection contains materials related to United Congregationalist Church Academies in the region. Some of these academies later became Doane College and others closed for a variety of reasons. 

The collections in this category include:

Chadron Academy

Franklin Academy

Gates College

Fontenelle College

Weeping Water Academy

Chadron Academy 1900-1964

Collection Summary

Date Range 1900-1964

Size/Extent 1 box, 1.0 cubic foot

Scope and Content

This collection contains materials related to the founding and operation of Chadron Academy. Early materials consist mostly of copies of the school publication, called the “Chadron Envoy,” along with gradebooks and school registers. The collection also contains information about alumni of the Academy dating up to the 1960’s.

Historical Note

Chadron Academy was established by Reverend G. J. Powell as a Congregational academy. It operated from 1889-1910, after which point the land was acquired by the State of Nebraska to be used as a normal school, today’s Chadron State College.

Franklin Academy (1881 - 1922)

Collection Summary

Date Range 1886-1923

Size/Extent 2 boxes, 1.0 cubic foot each

Scope and Content

This collection contains materials related to the founding and operation of Franklin Academy. Materials consist of the school publications such as the Academy Mirror, Academy Catalogs, Academy Bulletin, donation and financial statements, various correspondence and ledgers. Historical Note Franklin Academy opened on February 9, 1881 in Franklin Nebraska. The Academy was one of five college preparatory academies in Nebraska sponsored by the Congregational Church. The Franklin Academy closed in June, 1922.

Gates College (1881-1914)

Collection Summary

Date Range 1882-1911

Size/Extent 1 box, 1 cubic foot

Scope and Content

Various correspondence, newspaper clippings, ledgers, etc.,regarding Gates College in Neiligh, Nebraska. Historical Note Gates College was one of five preparatory academies in Nebraska sponsored by the Congregational Church.

Fontenelle College Collection (1896 - 1975)

Collection Summary

Date Range 1896 - 1975

Size/Extent 1 box, x 1 cubic foot

Scope and Content

This collection contains materials related to the founding and operation of Fontenelle College. The collection contains histories, newspaper articles, correspondence and books of “Generalia”. Historical Note In 1856 Rev. Ruben Gaylord along with Congregationalists formulated a plan to build a college to be known as the Nebraska University. It was finished in 1859. The first college burned in 1864. Another building was put up but in a few years it was found that it was doomed to die for lack of patronage. Negotiations were made with the people of Crete, Nebraska and the Congregational churches of Nebraska together with the founders of Nebraska University, Fontanelle became the nucleus of what is now Doane College. 

Weeping Water Academy Collection (1858 - 1914)

Collection Summary

Date Range 1858 - 1914

Size/Extent 1 box, 1 cubic foot

Scope and Content

This collection contains materials related to the founding and operation of Weeping Water Academy. Materials consist mostly of course catalogues, newsletters and correspondence. Historical Note Weeping Water Academy was founded in 1885 in Weeping Water, Ne. Reverend George Hindley was the first Principle of this Christian Academy. Due to increasing debt the academy closed in 1914.