Doane University Archives Finding Aids

Box

11/3

 3

1

Beatrice Daily Sun Supplement

Friday, October, 1993  (3 copies)

"Robert Taylor: A Golden-Era Hollywood Movie King From Nebraska"

Copyright © 1993 by E. A. Kral

Records of Manuscript Collections Created by Kral, E. A.

http://unllib.unl.edu/archon/?p=creators/creator&id=363

2

Album is a eclectic collection of original newspaper articles/photographs of Robert Taylor

highlights include: "Robert Taylor's Own Life Story"  autobiography, 

mentioning Doane College and Professor Hubert Gray his cello teacher, 

hollywood relationships, Barbara Stanwyck, polo, family coverage, baby photos,   

Louis B Mayer, "Harmony Boys" horses, boxing, tennis, over 35 pages of misc.

clippings.

3

Beatrice Daily Sun Supplement

Monday, October 3, 1994 (2 copies)

"Robert Taylor: Our Star"

Authors: E. A. Kral, Jane EllenWayne

Pages 1-13

4

Doane Magazine

Winter 1997

5

Framed poster entitled "Kathryn" a featured picture of the "Harmony Boys" 

Russ Gibson, Gerhart Wiebe and Robert Taylor

6

Life magazine V. 2 No. 23, June 7. 1937

"Little Doane" pgs. 38-40  mentions Robert Taylor going to Doane

7

Life magazine V. 1  No. 1, Nov. 23, 1936

"Mr. Brugh……pronounced Robert Taylor"  pgs. 60-64

Letter from Federick F. Bauer

8

Notebook: Robert Taylor Honors Convocation Photos, Doane College, October 25th, 1963.

including a description of each photo

9a

Folder from E.A. Kral "48-Page Supplement on Robert Taylor in October 8, 1993

Beatrice Daily Sun by E.A. Kral

Photocopy

9b

 Folder from E. A. Kral "Various Published Accounts About Robert Taylor"

articles/photocopies:

Dec., 1936

Nebraska Alumnus "My Cousin Arlington"

5/5/1939

Omaha World Herald  "Barbara Stanwyck, Taylor Wed in Midnight Ceremony"

5/17/1939

Omaha World Herald  "Home Town Boy Weds: Beatrice News Is Local"

7/15/1951

Omaha World Herald "Nebraska's Robert Taylor"

6/9/1969

New York Times "Robert Taylor, 30 Years in Films, Dies"

6/11/1969

Simon & Schuster, 1989 "Robert Taylor Eulogy"

11/23/1992

ordering information of re-prints from Nebraska State Historical Society

including Robert Taylor

1994

Gage County Historical Museum "Robert Taylor Memorial Hsy. Hi-way 136

9/21/1994

The Crete News "Wilber Historical Writer Participate in an Three-Day Taylor

Symposium in Beatrice"

9/28/1994

The Crete News "Taylor's Family Visiting Doane College Monday"

10/12/1994

The Crete News "Doane hold Lunch for Visiting Taylor's"

12/23/2001

Omaha World Herald  "41 Rose crew put the "Big" in Big Red"

6/12/2002

Omaha World Herald "Films: Top romances are selected"

6/18/2004

Classic Images "Ursula Thiess"

6/26/2004

Encyclopedia of the Great Plains "Robert Taylor (1911-1969)

9/30/2006

Forbes "The Ten Most Expensive Homes in the U.S. 2005"

9/30/2006

website:…rodeorealty.com "Taylor Gate"

4/1/2009

The Crete News "Robert Taylor: Glamorous movie star of Hollywood's.."

7/8/2009

The Crete News " Don Ziegler"

3/24/2010

Beatrice Daily Sun "An Artist an Actress" plus "The Man With The Perfect Profile"

3/31/2010

The Crete News "Robert Taylor to be featured in April on Turn Classic Movies Channel"

9c

Folder from E.A. Kral "16-Page Supplement on Robert Taylor in October 3, 1994”,

Beatrice Daily Sun by E. A. Kral

Photocopy

10

 Folder is photocopied collection of a  letter/newspaper articles/photographs:

5/21/1961

Family Weekly, "Robert Taylor--Outdoorsman"

6/12/1969

The Crete News ""Doc" Brugh Is Remember by Crete Citizens"

1/28/1975

Letter from Frederick F. Bauer, correcting  an article published in Life  Magazine

11/23/1936

5/31/2010

The Crete News "Robert Taylor to be features in April on Turner Classic

Movie Channel"

6/24/2010

Beatrice Daily Sun "An artist, an actress" & "The Man with the Perfect Profile"

11

Folder is a photocopied collection from The Tiger 1931 primarily of Arlington Brugh aka Robert Taylor

years at Doane College

12

Folder is a photocopied from Doane Owl, Doane Newsletter & misc.:

Feb., 1930

Doane College News Letter V. 26, No. 3 p.4 "Intra Muros"

3/11/1930

Doane Owl "Doane Players"

3/18/1930

Doane Owl "Frosh Shine in Various Activities", "Doane Is On The Right Track…"

Dec., 1930

Doane College News Letter V. 27, No. 2 p. 3 "Intra Muros"

4/1/1930

Doane Owl "Players Give Helen's Boys As Trip Play"

4/8/1930

Doane Owl "Doane Orchestra to Give Conert"

11/19/1930

Doane Players program "Holiday"

3/9/1931

Doane Players Agreement to pay S.A. Brugh percentage of receipts

April, 1934

Doane College News Letter V. 30, No. 3 p. 3  "Signed contract with M.G.M

Jan., 1936

Doane College News Letter V. 32, No. 2 p.3 "Achievement recognized"

Jan., 1937

Doane College News Letter V. 33, No. 2 p. 3 "Given Reception"

9/24/1963

Doane Owl "Robert Taylor Set Doane Visit"

10/15/1963

Doane Owl "Campus Prepares Homecoming, 1963"

10/29/1963

Doane Owl "Taylor Receives Honorary Degree"

1/22/1990

Passages "The Robert Taylor building renamed..

1/29/1990

Omaha World Herald "Vindictive Heave-Ho for an Anti-Commuist Actor"

8/7/2011

"Robert Taylor's 100th Birthday Celebration"

misc …

13

Folder contains newspaper clippings

5/21/1961

Family weekly "Robert Taylor--Outdoorsman"

6/12/1969

Crete News ""Doc" Brugh Is Remembered by Crete Citizens"

4/1/2010

Doane Owl v.144, no 21 "Former Student star of month"

Box

11/3

4

Books:

1

Title: Robert Taylor: a biography

Author: Tranberg, Charles

Publisher: Albany, Ga: BearManor Media, 2011

Edition/Format: Book Biography: English

WorldCat: Doane Library Archives Call Number: LOCKER PN2287.T39 T73 2011

2

Title: "…but I have promises to keep": my life before, with & after Robert Taylor

Author: Thiess, Ursula

Publisher: Berkeley, CA: Creative Arts Book Company 2003

Edition/Format: Book Biogrpahy: English View all editions and formats

WorldCat: Doane Library Archives Call Number: Locker PN2287.T45 B8 2003

3

Title: "Robert Taylor"

Author: Jane Ellen Wayne

Publisher: New York: St. Martin's Press 1987

Edition/Format: Book Biography: English: 1st U.S. edView all edition and formats

WorldCat: Doane Library Archives Call Number: PN2287.T27 W34 1987

4

Title: "The films of Robert Taylor"

Author: Lawrence J. Quirk

Publisher: Secaucus, N.J.: Citadel Press, 1975

Edition/Format: Book Biography: English: 1st EdView all edition and formats

WorldCat: Doane Library Archives Call Number: LOCKER PN2287.T27 Q5

5

Title: "Doane Tiger 1931" (Yearbook)

Author: Doane College

Edition/Format: Book English

Pages: 34, 45-48, 58, 62, 76

WorldCat: not catalogued

13

Binder

Robert Taylor 

Table of Contents

original plus

 three copies

Pages

Dates:

1

11/17/1993

 Letter to Dr. Fred D. Brown (Doane President from 1987-2005)) from Thomas J Kuzelka ‘30 and Thusnelda Kuzelka ‘32

2-4

Photocopy of  of Robert Taylor’s Pepigram Notebook cover, endnotes “Football Schedule of”;  endnotes  “Basketball Schedule of”, Robert Taylor’s Pepigram Note Book

5-17

Winter, 1994

Nebraska History magazine article entitled; “Robert Taylor of Beatrice The Nebraska Roots of a Hollywood Star” by E. A. Kral Winter 1994 V. 75. #4, pages..280-291..binder

18

11/19/1930

Playbill; Doane-Crete Lycum Course Doane Player in “Holiday” by Philip Barry Characters: Arlington Brugh as Ned Seton

19-20

10/25/1963

Doane College, Autumn Convocation, Honoring Robert Taylor actor October 25, 1963

21-22

Convocation Program, “The Honorary Degree, Doctor of Humane Letters Robert Taylor”

23

June, 1935

Photocopy from notebook sheet pasted newspaper clippings, photos of Robert Taylor June 1935

24

12/29/1935 1/29/1936  2/2/1936

Newspaper articles; “Former Student of Doane Honored”, Crete News Jan. 23, 1936. “Do You”, Lincoln Star, Wednesday, Jan. 29, 1936, Lincoln, Sunday Journal Star, Feb. 2, 1936 and Lincoln Sunday Journal Star, Dec. 29, 1935 “Famous send Nebraska Greetings”

25

3/29/1936           3/2/ 1936

Newspaper articles; Lincoln Sunday Journal Star News, March 29, 1936,  Lincoln Star, Monday , March 2, 1936

26

2/17/1936  2/9/1936   5/7/1936  6/24/1936 7/8/1936    7/9/1936

Newspaper articles; “Variously Interest Subject Are Treated” Lincoln Star, Monday, February 17, 1936, photo, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, c, “Coming To Town”, Crete News, May 7, 1936, “Understand That”, Lincoln Star, Wednesday, June 24, 1936, “When We Were” Lincoln Star, Wednesday, July 8, 1936, “Seems As Though” Lincoln Star, Thursday, July 9, 1936. page 26

27

6/21/1936  8/7/1936    8/2/1936 8/23/1936 8/28/1936

    Newspaper articles; “Robert Taylor of Movies Can find Plots at Home” Sunday World Herald Omaha, June 21, 1936, “Robert Taylor on CBS”, Lincoln Journal Star, August 2, 1936, …”Here’s one for the books…”Lincoln Sunday Journal Star, August 23, 1936, “Hollywood gore..” talks about Doane College, Lincoln Star Friday, August 7, 1936, “Dear Cousin Robert”  Lincoln Star, Friday, August 28, 1936 page 27

28

June, 1935

Photos & captions; Motion Picture, June, 1936 page 28

29

June, 1935

 Photo & caption; Motion Picture, June, 1936 page 29

30

4/26/1936

Photo & caption; Sunday Journal & Star, April 26, 1936 page 30

31

8/30/1936   9/14/1936

Newspaper articles; “Taylor-Stanwyck”, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, August 9, 1936, “Wilbur Chenoweth Tells Of Visit With Film Folk”, Lincoln Star, Monday, September 14, 1936 & Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, August 30, 1936 page 31

32

10/28/1936

 Newspaper article; “Robert Taylor Arrives in City Enroute To Beatrice; Greeted by A Mob of Feminine Admirers” Lincoln Star, Wednesday October 28, 1936, page 32

33

10/28/1936   10/30/1936

Newspaper articles; "Robert Taylor Greeted by Mob of Admirers On Arrival in City", Lincoln Star, Wednesday October 28, 1936, "Doane College Will Honor Robert Taylor At A Reunion Dinner", Lincoln Star, Friday, October 30, 1936

34

10/29/1936 10/30/1936

Newspaper articles: "Home-Town Admirers Surround Actor Robert Taylor" The Lincoln Star, Thursday October 29, 1936 "When Arlington Brugh Had a Date It Was Not Odd; When Robert Taylor Has Date Here "It Is Really Sumpin" Lincoln Star, Friday Oct, 1936

35

11/1/1936  10/31/1936

Newspaper articles: "Party For Robert Taylor Replete With "Auld Lang Syne" Atmosphere" Lincoln Star, Saturday, October

36

11/01/1936 10/30/1936 10/31/1936

Newspaper articles: "Miss Vera Bacom" Lincoln Star, Friday, Oct. 30, 1936, "There" Lincoln Star, Saturday, October 31, 1936, "Theater Topics", Lincoln Sunday Journal Star, November 1, 1936 

37

11/1/1936

Newspaper article: "He's Still Arlington to" Lincoln, Sunday Journal & Star, Nov. 1, 1936

38

08/2/1935   09/22/1935

Newspaper articles: "A Family Group…"  Lincoln, Sunday Journal & Star, Sept. 28, 1935, "Nebraska's Newest Presentation to Fame"

Lincoln Star, Friday, August 2, 1935

39

08/18/1935 08/29/1935 09/11/1935 10/20/1935 12/29/1935

Newspaper articles: picture captions: "Robert Taylor and Irene Hervey" Aug 18, 1935, "Apropo of" Lincoln Star,

Wednesday, September 11, 1935, "The News Score One On A Hunch" Crete News Aug. 29, 1935, "Robert Taylor's Hello"

Lincoln Star, December 29, 1935

40

August, 1936

Photoplay, August, 1936: misc newspaper pictures

41-43

Dec., 1936

Newspaper article: "A Real Day With Robert Taylor" Screenland, December, 1936

44

10/11/1936

Newspaper Photo: Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, October 11, 1936

45

10/26/1936 10/27/1936 10/28/1936

Newspaper articles: "Celebrities to Fill Our Midst This Week" Lincoln Star, Monday, October 26, 1936 "Can You Tell Me", October 27, 1936, "We Don't Know" Oct. 28, 1936

46

9/22/1935 12/29/1935

Newspaper articles & photographs: "Robert Taylor", Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Sept. 22, 1935, Dec. 29, 1935

47

10/27/1935       Jan., 1936

Newspaper articles: "Youthful Beatrice Actor" Sunday World-Herald, Oct 27, 1935, Doane Newsletter, Jan. 1936

48

9/14/1936 10/7/1936

Newspaper article and photograph: "California Figures Prominently In News", Lincoln Star, Monday

49

10/25/1936

Newspaper article: "Robert Taylor, Idol of Women Movie Fans, to Be Here This …" Lincoln Sunday Journal

50

11/1/1936

Newspaper photographs: "Beatrice Home Folks" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Nov. 1, 1936

51

11/1/1936

Newspaper article:  "Lulu Mae Coe.", Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Nov. 1, 1936

52-53

11/1/1936 11/2/1936

Newspaper article: "Robert Taylor Remains Arlington Brugh to…" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star,

Nov. 1, 1936, Lincoln Star, Monday, Nov. 2, 1936, "Sidelights About Bob Taylor And The Missouri

Game; Harvard Catalogues Girls' Colleges;…" Lincoln Star, Monday, Nov. 2, 1935 "Taylor Back In

Hollywood", Lincoln Star, Monday, Nov. 2, 1936

54

11/1/1936  11/4/1936 11/8/1936

Articles: Congregational Record, Nov, 1936, "Robert Taylor's Doane College Days Is Subject of Article 11/08/1936, Robert Taylor Disrupts Voting Lincoln Star Wed. Nov. 4, 1936, "Lulu Mae Coe" Lincoln  Sunday Journal & Star, Nov., 1936, "Theater Topics" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, 11/8/1936

55

10/5/1936 11/14/1936 11/15/1936 11/16/1936 12/6/1936 12/13/1936

Newspaper articles: "Taylor visits Doane" Crete News 10/5/1936, "Doane Initiation of "Robert Taylor" Crete New, October 5, 1936 "We;" Lincoln Star Mon. Nov. 16, 1936, "Hunt in Lincoln for Clark Gable, Taylor Fruitless", Lincoln Star, Nov 14, 1936 "Question Box" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Nov. 15, 1936, "Odds and Ends" Lincoln, Sunday Journal & Star, Dec. 6, 1936, "Drama" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Dec. 13, 1936

56

11/1/1936 Dec., 1936

Photographs; Delineator, 11/1/1936, Screenland, Dec., 1936

57

Dec., 1936

Screenland, Dec. 1936

58

12/13/1936 12/20/1936 12/25/1936 12/31/1936  01/2/1937 1/19/1937   1/2/1937

Newspaper articles; Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Dec. 13, 1936, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Dec. 20, 1936, Lincoln Star Friday Dec 25, 1936, Lincoln Star Thurs. Dec. 31, 1936, "Barbra Stanwych's Divorce Made Final”, Lincoln Star Sat. Jan. 2, 1937, "Wedding Bells for Bob Taylor?" Lincoln Star, Tues. Jan. 19, 1937, Lincoln Star, Sat., Jan 2, 1937.

59

01/03/1937 01/04/1937 01/10/1937 01/17/1937

Articles: "Theater Topics" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan. 3, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan. 10, 1937, Life Jan. 4, 1937, "Bob's Eyes HaveIt" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan. 10, 1937, "Taylor, a Railroad" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan. 17, 1937, "Classmate of Robert Taylor In Pictures” Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan. 17, 1937

60

01/7/1937 01/17/1937 01/14/1937 01/28/1937 02/3/1937

Newspaper articles: "Artificial Perhaps…" Lincoln Star Tuesday, January 17, 1937, Crete News Thursday Jan. 14, 1937, Crete News Thurs. Jan. 28, 1937, Crete News Thursday January 7, 1937 Lincoln Star Monday. Feb. 1, 1937 "Dispute In Robert Taylor Family Puts Grandfather On Nebraska Relief Rolls"

61-62     

2/4/1937 02/05/1937 02/07/1937

Newspaper articles; "Taylor Says He'll Assist Grandfather" Lincoln Star, Thurs. Feb. 4, 1937, "Grandpa To The Front" Lincoln Star Friday, Feb 5, 1937, "Nebraskans in Hollywood!" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Feb 7, 1937

63       

02/05/1937 02/07/1937  02/09/1937 02/10/1937 02/14/1937 Jan., 1937 02/21/1937

Newspaper articles; Lincoln Star Friday Feb. 5, 1937, "Robert Taylor Has Statement" Lincoln Star, Tues, Feb 9, 1937 "Claims Taylor Has Sent Cash" Lincoln Star Feb 10, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Feb 14, 1937, Doane Newsletter  January 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Feb 21, 1937

64      

12/11/1936 01/09/1937 01/29/1937  02/14/1937 02/21/1937  02/25/1937 02/28/1937

Newspaper articles; Lincoln Star Friday Dec. 11, 1936, Pathfinder, Jan. 9, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Feb 14, 1937, "Robert Taylor to Help With Roosevelt Party" Lincoln Star, Jan. 29, 1937, "Grandfather Brugh Is Critically ill";…Lincoln Star Thurs Feb 25, 1937, "Grandfather Brugh's Condition Unchanged", Lincoln Star Friday, Feb. 28, 1937

65     

2/28/1937  03/01/1937  03/03/1937  Sept., 1936

Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Feb. 28, 1937 "Jacob Brugh Is Taken By Death" Lincoln Star Monday 03/01/1937 "Funeral Services for Jacob A. Brugh” Held, Lincoln Star Wed. 03/03/1937, Ladies Homes Journal, Sept., 1936

66-72     

Sept., 1936

Ladies Home Journal, "Anything Can Happen in Hollywood" by Robert Taylor Sept., 1936

73       

03/03/1937  03/14/1937

"Robert Taylor's Own Life Story" by Robert Taylor Lincoln Evening Journal wed., March 3, 1937 Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Mar. 14, 1937

74       

03/03/1937  03/14/1937

Photographs; Lincoln Evening Journal, Wed., Mar. 3, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Mar. 14, 1937

75       

04/18/1937  03/14/1937  03/17/1937  04/17/1937 05/02/1937

"Take A look Behind The Scenes At Women Who Make Film Wheels Spin”, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Mar 14, 1937, Lincoln Star Wed., Mar 17, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, May 2, 1937 "Build-Up for Romance" Pathfinder, April 17, 1937

76       

05/23/1937  05/27/1937 05/30/1937  06/06/1937  06/13/1937 

"Jacob Brugh Sale" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, May 23, 1937 "Personal Property Jacob Brugh Sold" Lincoln Star, Wednesday June 2, 1937, "Quotations of Noted People" Lincoln Star, June 13, 1937 Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star June 13, 1937 

77      

05/16/1937  06/20/1937  06/27/1937  07/11/1937  07/25/1937  08/08/1937

"Mannerisms" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, May 16, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, June 20, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star June 20, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, June 27, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, July 11, 1937, "Taylor, Powell On KFAB", Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, July 11, 1937 "Taylor the "Find" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star July 25, 1937, World Herald Omaha Thursday July 29, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Aug. 8, 1937

78       

06/27/1937  07/23/1937  08/07/1937  08/29/1937

"Bob Taylor at Stuart; "Moon," Lincoln; Fight Film, Orpheum; Varsity Bills Pair of Features" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, June 27, 1937, "Barbara Stanwyck Rescued by Taylor, Who Threatens to Sock Hollywood Copper" Lincoln Star Friday July 23, 1937 "Actress Given the Works by Officers Who Mistakes Her for Autograph Hunter" Lincoln Star Friday July 23, 1937, Pathfinder, Aug. 7, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Aug. 29, 1937

79       

08/08/1937  08/21/1937  06/19/1937  08/19/1937

"Taylor Dislikes Being Called Beautiful; Has Hair On Chest”, Lincoln  Star Thurs., Aug 19, 1937 "Two Admirers of Taylor Yanked From Under Actor's Bed" Lincoln Star Saturday, August 31, 1937 "You'll Be Seeing" Pathfinder, June 19, 1937, Photography Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Aug 8, 1937

80       

09/04/1937  09/05/1937  09/06/1937  09/09/1937 09/07/1937  09/11/1937  09/12/1937 09/13/1937  09/19/1937  09/24/1937

"You'll Be Seeing" Pathfinder, Sept. 4, 1937 Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Sept. 5, 1937 "Robert Taylor Exerts More Influence Than Church, Minister Says" Lincoln Star, Sept. 6, 1937 "Mother of Robert Taylor in Beatrice” Lincoln Star, Sept. 9, 1937 "Say Robert Taylor is Regular "He-Man' Lincoln Star, Sept. 7, 1937, Pathfinder, Sept. 11, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal Star, Sept. 12, 1937 Lincoln Star Monday, Sept. 13, 1937 Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Sept. 19, 1937 "Denies Engaged to Robert Taylor" Lincoln Star, Friday, Sept. 24, 1937

81       

Sept. 1937  Oct. 3, 1937  Oct. 7, 1937  Oct. 10, 1937  Oct. 13, 1937  Oct 5, 1937  Oct. 18, 1937

"Glamour almost robbed him of a career"  Carwell Pub. Co., Sept, 1937 Lincoln Sunday Journal Star, Oct. 3, 1937 Crete News Oct 7, 1937 "Doane College" Lincoln Star, Oct. 10, 1937,   "Was Barbara Stanwyck In Beatrice Last Week? "No", Says Mrs. Brugh" Lincoln Star, Tues, Oct. 5, 1937 "Do You Recognize This Young Man?" Omaha-World Herald Oct. 13, 1937, "Mrs. Brugh Entertains for Her Mother At Hotel In Beatrice”, Star, Monday, Oct. 18, 1937

82       

10/17/1937  10/19/1937  10/23/1927  10/31/1937 11/12/1937

"Taylor - Stanwyck "This is My Affair" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Oct 17, 1937, "Taylor Is Homesick" Lincoln Star Saturday October 23, 1937, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Oct. 31, 1937 Lincoln Star Tues. Oct. 19, 1937, Lincoln Star Friday Nov. 12, 1937

83       

10/24/1937

Photograph

84       

10/25/1937  10/31/1937  Oct., 1937

Lincoln Star Monday, Oct. 25, 1937, Lincoln Sunday, Journal & Star Oct. 31, 1937 Women’s Home Companion Oct,1937

85       

Oct., 1937 12/02/1937  12/13/1937  12/22/1937 

Women's Home Companion Oct., 1937 (continued), Lincoln Star Thurs Dec. 2, 1937, Robert Taylor Declines Discuss Beauty And Brains Upon Arrival In New York Lincoln Star, Monday Dec. 13, 1937 "Robert Taylor Is Back In Hollywood, Not Met by Barbara" Lincoln Star, Wed. Dec. 22, 1937 "Barbara Stanwyck Ordered to Court" Lincoln Star Wed. Dec. 22. 1937

86      

12/31/1937  01/01/1938  01/16/1938  01/30/1938

"HERE ARE MOVIE BOX-OFFICE LEADERS FOR 1937" Lincoln Star Friday, December 31, 1937, Lincoln Star, Jan 1, 1938, Pathfinder Jan. 1, 1938 "HOLLYWOOD GETS ITS B's MIXED" Lincoln Star, Jan 1, 1938 "Stars In Court" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan. 16, 1938, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Jan 30, 1938, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan 39, 1938

87      

01/11/1938  02/13/1938

"Robert Taylor Mentioned in Court Battle”, Lincoln Star, Tuesday Jan. 11, 1938 "Nice Horsey" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Feb 13, 1938

88      

2/13/1938

Photographs

89      

02/19/1938  March, 1938  02/20/1938  02/25/1938

Pathfinder, Feb. 19, 1938 Modern Screen Mar, 1938, Modern Screen Mar. 1938 Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Feb. 20, 1938 The Family Circle Feb. 25, 1938

90      

March, 1938

Misc. Photographs

91     

03/13/1938  03/20/1938  03/31/1938  04/03/1938

Photo caption "S.A. Brugh, Doane" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Mar. 13, 1938, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Mar. 20, 1938, caption Lincoln Star, Thursday, Mar. 31, 1938 "A Yank at Oxford" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star April 3, 1938

92      

March, 1938

Photographs Screen Book,  March, 1938

93      

05/24/1938 

April, 1938

"Boxers Say Robert Taylor Displays Fast, Wicked Left Hook In New Film; Fought With Bone Broken In Hand" Lincoln Star, Tues May 24, 1938, Screen Book, April, 1938

94-95     

April, 1938  04/03/1938 04/10/1938  04/17/1938  05/19/1938  05/18/1938  05/29/1938  06/05/1938  06/12/1938 

Newspaper & Magazine articles: Photograph 'Maureen O'Sullivan isn't begging Robert Taylor for his autograph…"A Yank At Oxford" McCall's, April, 1938, Lincoln Sunday Journal Star on; April 3, 1938, April 10, 1938 April 17, 1938, May 15, 1938, May 29, 1938, June 5, 1938, June 12, 1938 and Lincoln Star Wednesday May 18, 1938

96       

June, 1938

  May, 1938

Photographs: Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, June 12, 1938, screen Book, May, 1938

97-99     

June, 1938 

Article: "Behind The Scenes With Bob Taylor" Screen Book, June, 1938

100      

06/18/1938  07/10/1938  07/24/1938  08/07/1938  08/13/1938  08/14/1938

Newspaper articles: Pathfinder June 18, 1938, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, July 10, 1938, July 24, 1938 August 7, 1938 and August 14, 1938, Pathfinder Aug. 13, 1938

101      

08/14/1938  08/28/1938

Newspaper articles & photographs: Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, August 14, 1938 August 28, 1938

102      

09/13/1938  09/22/1938  09/26/1938

Newspaper clippings: Lincoln Star Tuesday, Sept. 13, 1938, Lincoln Star Sept 22, 1938 Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, August 14, 1938, Lincoln Star Monday Sept. 26, 1938

103-5     

Sept., 1938

Article: "The Robert Taylor" Screen Book, Sept. 1938

106-9     

Oct., 1938 

Nov. 1938

  Dec., 1938

"Stanwyck Speaks her Mind on Taylor" Screen Book, Dec., 1938

110       

01/10/1939  01/15/1939  02/19/1939 Feb.,  1939          Mar. 5, 1939

Newspaper articles: Lincoln Star Tuesday, Jan. 10, 1939, Lincoln Sunday Journal Star Feb. 19, 1939, Jan. 15, 1939 and Mar. 5, 1939, Screen Book Feb., 1939

111-4      

Mar. 5, 1939  1939

Newspaper & Magazine article: "Let Me Live My Own Private Life" Robert Taylor; Family Circle, 1939 Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Mar. 5, 1939

115      

03/05/1939  03/13/1938  04/15/1939  04/25/1939

Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Mar 5, 1939 Lincoln Star Monday Mar. 13, 1939 Lincoln Star Saturday April 15, 1939 Lincoln Star Tues. Apr 25, 1939

116-21     

May, 1939

"Gay Story of Robert Taylor's Last Fling" Movie Mirror, May 1939

122       

05/11/1939  06/06/1939  06/23/1939  05/15/1939  08/27/1939

Newspaper articles: Lincoln Star Thurs. May 11, 1939, Lincoln Star, Tuesday, June 6, 1939, Lincoln Star Friday, June 23, 1939, "Barbara Stanwyck Weds Robert Taylor at 12:20 AM Sunday" Lincoln Star Monday, May 15, 1939 Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Aug. 27, 1939

123       

05/24/1940  03/24/1940  03/03/1940

Newspaper articles: Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, March 24, 1940, March 3, 1940

124      

06/18/1940  07/28/1940

Newspaper articles: "The Amazing Mrs. Taylor" evening World-Herald Omaha, June 18, 1940 "Taylor finds Burbank School Friend, On Coast" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, July 28, 1940

125-8      

Mar. 1940

Article: Silver Screen, Mar. 1940

129-32      

July, 1939  Mar. 1940

Article: Silver screen, Mar. 1940 "Those Taylor- Stanwyck Wedding" July Modern Screen 1939

133      

06/23/1940  09/03/1939  10/01/1939

Newspaper articles: Sunday World-Herald Omaha, June 23, 1940, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Sept. 3, 1939, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Oct., 1939

134      

11/25/1939  11/27/1939  12/05/1939

Newspaper articles: Lincoln Star Saturday Nov. 25, 1939, evening Monday World-Herald Omaha Nov. 27, 1939, Lincoln Star Tues. Dec. 5, 1939

135-7     

12/09/1940  12/31/1940 01/06/1940

Newspaper and magazine articles: Redbook (no date), Lincoln Star Mon. Dec. 9 1940 & Jan. 6, 1941, Lincoln Star Tues Dec. 31, 1940

138      

06/21/1938 06/13/1941

Newspaper clippings: Lincoln Star Tues. June 21, 1938, Lincoln Star Friday June 143, 1941,

139      

10/16/1941  11/13/1941  01/11/1942  05/15/1942  05/06/1942

Newspaper clippings: Crete News, Oct. 16,1941, "Taylors Arrive at Sun Valley Resort" Lincoln Star Thursday, Nov. 13, 1941, "Youth Accused of Trying to Extort $5,000 From Taylor" Lincoln Star Friday, May 22, 1942 "Gage Soldiers Use Bob Taylor's Pool” Lincoln Star Friday May 15, 1942 "What Makes "Johnny Eager"? Lana Turner!" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Jan. 11, 1942. "Illinois Man Is Accused Of Writing An Extortion Note To Robert Taylor" Lincoln Star Wednesday May 6, 1942

140      

09/07/1942  01/14/1942

"Heads, He Won" Lincoln Star Monday Sept 7, 1942, Lincoln Star Wednesday, Jan. 14, 1942

141

06/12/1942  10/26/1943  10/30/1942  09/28/1942  12/17/1942  02/10/1942  06/24/1943

Newspaper articles & clippings "Robert Taylor" Lincoln Star Friday, June 12, 1942, "Mrs. Ruth Brugh Beatrice Visitor" Lincoln Star, Oct 26, 1943, "Lt. Robert Taylor Calls Mrs. Brugh Beatrice Visitor" Lincoln Star, Sat, Oct. 30, 1942, "Have you Heard" Lincoln Star, Monday, Sept. 28, 1942 "Brugh’s Desire to Use Stage Names" Lincoln Star, Thurs. Dec. 17, 1942, "Robert Taylor Sworn Into Naval Air Force" Lincoln Star, Wednesday, Feb.10, 1943 "Bataan" movie advertisement Lincoln Star Thurs., June 24, 2943

142-7

7/23/1943

Magazine article: "The Family Circle" July 23, 1943

148

3/23/1944

Movie  advertisement "Billy The Kid"

149

05/22/1945  09/20/1945

Newspaper clipping &  movie advertisement; "Waterloo Bridge" Lincoln Star Tuesday, May 22, 1945 "Robert Taylor Plans To Visit In Beatrice" Lincoln Star Thursday, Sept. 20, 1945

150-1

08/24/1946  07/27/1946

Newspaper articles: "Picture of the Month" August 24, 1946 "The Role I Liked Best…" Saturday Evening Post, July 27, 1946

152-3

10/16/1946  10/17/1946 10/24/1946  10/25/1946  10/31/1946 

Newspaper articles: "Actor Robert Taylor Visits With Old Hometown Friends" Lincoln Star Oct. 17, 1946…makes a brief trip to Doane College, "Robert Taylor Flying To Beatrice Next Week" Lincoln Star Oct. 16, 1946, "Taylor Visiting With Old Friends" Lincoln Star, Wed. 10/16/46, "Robert Taylor Visits Here, In Wilber" Crete News Oct. 24, 1946, "Robert Taylor, Wife Flying To Ord For Week-end of Hunting Lincoln Star, Oct. 25, 1946 "Bob Taylor, Happily Wed, Amazed At Hollywood's Philosophy On Marriage Lincoln Star, Oct. 31, 1946

154-5

11/7/1946  11/8/1946 12/28/1946

Newspaper clippings: Crete News, Nov. 7, 1946, Lincoln Star, Nov. 8, 1946 "Undercurrent" Liberty Magazine, Dec. 28, 1946

156-7

n/a

Newspaper articles: "Pick of The Pictures"

158

05/19/1947  05/15/1947  05/26/1947  04/14/1947    04/16/1947

Newspaper articles; "Robert Taylor Says He Was "Forced" To Appear In What He Felt Was Pro-Russ Film" Lincoln Star Thursday, May 15, 1947 "Star Taylor Is Assailed" Lincoln Star Monday May 26, 1947; "Probers Call Robert Taylor" Lincoln Star Wed. April 14, 1947 "Movieman Mayer Declares Taylor Was "Mistaken: Lincoln Star Monday May 19, 1947, Weekly Kansas City Star, Wed., Apr 16, 1947

159

05/16/1947  04/23/1947  06/18/1947

Newspaper articles & clippings "Our Brave Bold Movie Idols" Lincoln Star Friday May 16, 1947, Kansas City Weekly Star Wed. April 23,1947, Kansas City Weekly Star June 18, 1947, Doane News- letter, June 1947

160

10/23/1947 

Newspaper article & photograph: "Commies Active Taylor States, Lincoln Star October 22, 1947, Lincoln Star, Thursday, Oct. 23, 1947

161-2

01/23/1948  05/13/1948  06/03/1948 May, 1948

Newspaper articles & photographs: "Robert Taylor May Visit Doane" Crete News May 13, 1948, "Studio Work Keeps Robert Taylor From Doane Alum Banquet Lincoln Star Thurs. June 3, 1948, Lincoln Star Jan 23, 1948, Chevrolet Magazine "Friends" May 1948

163-4

04/09/1948  12/29/1948

Newspaper articles: "Robert Taylor May Return To Doane Campus" Lincoln Star, April 9, 1948, "Nebraskans: In The Workshop And At Home" Lincoln Star Thursday, Dec. 29,1949

165-6

03/22/1950 03/23/1950  05/20/1950 

Newspaper articles & movie advertisement: "Curiosity Brings Response From Hollywood' Famous Robert Taylor" Doane Owl, Crete News Mar 23, 1950, "Ambush" movie Lincoln Star, Mar. 22, 1950, "Mrs. Archibald Stanhope Dies: Grandmother of Robert Taylor…came to Nebraska In Covered Wagon About 1879 Lincoln Star Sat. May 20, 1950

167      

03/10/1949  03/30/1949  04/09/1950  02/01/1951

Newspaper articles: "...Turns Traitor in "Conspirator" Mar. 10, 1949, "Bob Taylor Spends A Day In Beatrice" Mar. 30, 1949, "Barbara Stanwyck Asks End Of Robert Taylor Marriage" Lincoln Star Thursday Feb. 1, 1951

168      

02/22/1951  07/01/1953

Newspaper articles: "Barbara Stanwyck Sheds Robert Taylor" Lincoln Star Thurs., Feb. 22, 1951, "1933" Doane Newsletter, July, 1953

169      

Jan., 1953  01/18/1953

Newspaper articles & photograph: "Robert Taylor Honor Guest At Omaha Luncheon" Doane College Newsletter January, 1953, Lincoln Star Thursday, Jan. 8, 1953, "Above, Beyone" Tells of A-Bomb Pilot" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan 18, 1953, Eleanor Parker finds Robert Taylor (photo).

170       

01/21/1953 04/26/1953  05/23/1953  05/28/1953

Newspaper articles and movie advertisement: "Robert Taylor Ends 19th Year for MGM", Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star April 26, 1953, "Bob Taylor Leaves Beatrice; On Way To London Filming" Lincoln Star Saturday, May 23, 1953 "Movie Actor Taylor Makes Crete Visit" Crete News, May 28, 1953

171       

05/20/1953  02/14/1954  08/23/1953 

Newspaper articles: "Robert Taylor, Friends Arrive In Beatrice For A Short Visit" Lincoln Star Wednesday, May 20, 1953 "Gable's Heart Throbbing Again" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Aug 23, 1953 "Knights of the Round Table" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Feb 14, 1954

172       

10/28/1953  05/05/1954  05/01/1954  03/14/0954

Newspaper articles: "A Nebraska Hunter" Lincoln Star Oct. 28, 1953 "Robert Taylor Will Wed Ursula Thiese, Lincoln Star Sat., May 1, 1954 "Nebraska's Taylor To Wed Actress This Summer" Lincoln Star Wed, May 5, 1954 "All The Brothers Were Valiant" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star March 14, 1954

173       

05/25/1954  05/26/1954  06/03/1954  March 1935  June 3, 1954

Newspaper articles: "Taylor Marries Actress Thiess" Lincoln Star Tues.,  May 25, 1934, "Taylor, Bride Returning To Hollywood Soon" Lincoln Star Wed.,  May 26, 1954, June 3, 1954 "Good Housekeeping, March, 1935

174

05/22/1955  05/11/1955

Newspaper articles: "Robert Taylor in Unusual Role: He's to Be Pawnshop 'Hustler'". Lincoln Sunday, Journal & Star, July 15, 1957 "Taylor's Fist Fly Often in 'Many River'"., Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, May 22, 1955, "Many Rivers To Cross" Lincoln Star, Wednesday, May 11, 1955

175

01/08/1956  04/08/1956  10/25/1956  10/07/1956

"Mrs. Taylor May Give Up Job for Home: Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Jan. 8, 1956 "Even Hint Of Nudity Censored Out" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, April 8, 1956, "Ten Years Ago--1946, Crete News Oct. 25, 1956 'The Power and the Prize' Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Oct. 7, 1956

176

April, 1957  July 28, 1957

Newspaper articles: Doane College Newsletter April, 1957, "Taylor Went Right Way, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, July 28, 1957

177

3/28/1958

Advertisement: "Saddle the Wind" Lincoln Sunday Journal Star, Mar. 28, 1958

178

11/09/1958  11/23/1958  02/02/195  09/13/1959

Newspaper articles: Lincoln Sunday Journal Star from Personality Parade, Nov. 9, 1958, "Arlington Brugh Back in Town" Lincoln Star, Nov. 23, 1958, Doane Alum Returns to School vis Film, Crete News, Feb. 2, 1959, "Bob Taylor Will Get Revenge" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Sept. 13, 1959

179

11/01/1959  05/01/1960

Newspaper articles: "Taylor, Cupid Part in TV Debut”, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, November 1, 1959, "Not Bob", Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, May 1, 1960

180

05/06/1960  07/10/1960

Movie feature & clipping: "Killers of Kilimanjaro”, Lincoln Star Sunday May 6, 1960, Parade Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, July 10, 1960

181-2

08/07/1960  09/25/1960

Newspaper articles and photograph: "Foreign Brides" Parade Lincoln Sunday journal & Star Aug. 7, 1960, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Parade Magazine, Sept. 25, 1960

183

05/07/1961  06/25/1961  07/23/1961

Newspaper articles: "Taylor Gets Pension of $865…per week”, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, May 7, 1961, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Parade, June 25, 1961, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, July 23, 1961

184-5

11/12/1961  04/07/1963  05/07/1962

Newspaper clippings and movie advertisement: Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, Nov. 12, 1961, "Knights of the Round Table" Apr. 7 1963, "Robert Taylor's Step-Daughter Is Put On Probation”, Lincoln Star Monday, May 7, 1962 "Miracle of the White Stallions"

186-7

04/07/1963  06/11/1962

Newspaper articles: "Top Movies of the Week" Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star, April 7, 1963 "Robert Taylor's Favorite Recipe For Pecan Pie”, Lincoln Star Monday June 11, 1962

188

9/26/1963

"Robert Taylor To Visit Doane" Crete News, Sept. 26, 1963, "Robert Taylor Will Kick Off Doane Drive” Lincoln Star Thursday, Sept. 26, 1963.

189

10/24/1963

Newspaper article: "Robert Taylor Will Arrive Here Friday", Crete news 10/24/1963

190

10/26/1963

Newspaper article: "'Doc' Brugh Visits Alma Mater To Touch Off Big Doane Drive" Lincoln Star Saturday Oct 26, 1963

191-2

10/27/1963

Newspaper article: "Husker Stars in Their Eyes”, Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star Oct. 27, 1963

193

10/31/1963

Newspaper article: "Robert Taylor see Community 'Doane Bestows Honorary Degree', Crete News Oct. 31, 1963

194-5

10/31/1963

Newspaper article: "Success of Program is Crete's Gain..Doane”; Crete News October 1963.

196

9/16/1964  06/14/1964

Newspaper articles: "Broadcasters Will Honor Actor Taylor”, Lincoln Star Tuesday Sept. 16, 1964, "Early Film Pair Back Together" Nebraskaland" Sunday Journal & Star June 14, 1964. Personality Parade Lincoln Sunday Journal & Star June 7, 1964

197-8

9/20/1964  11/16/1964

Newspaper article and clipping: "Broadcast Honor To Taylor”, Lincoln Sunday Journal 7 Star Sept. 20, 1964, movie advertisement "A House Is Not A Home" Monday Nov. 16, 1964