Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

LAR202: India on the Eve of Independence, 1945 (Reacting to the Past): Articles

Newspaper Articles

A really good resource to find newspaper articles on historical events is the New York Times. Although this is an American paper, the NYTimes has been long known for its excellent reporting.

Doane students must create an account on campus before being able to use this resource in other locations. See the NYTimes Libguide for directions.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides collections of full-text, scholarly articles -- many date back to the early 20th century.  Use the search box within the database for "deep" searching of the full text of articles.

Databases Listing Articles

If you strike out in JSTOR, use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.

  • If the article is not available in fulltext in the database you find it, try finding the journal title in the A-Z Journal List in the box to the left.
  • If the library doesn't have the journal in print or electronic format, request the article using the interlibrary loan form found in the database, or use the one in the right column on this page.

Finding Journals in Perkins Library

There is one place where you can find every journal Perkins Library has access to, whether it's online or in print -- Journals A-Z. Even if you can't get access to an article in one database, you may find we provide access through another one. Just type in the title of the journal (not the article title!) and see if that journal appears in the results. If so, select a link that includes the date of your article.

What if there's an "embargo"?
Embargo means that the journal's publisher does not allow the most current issues to be accessed through a database. (Their way of making sure libraries pay for subscriptions!) So, if you see dates like "1998 to Present (Embargo: 1 year)," for example, then you can get access to articles in every issue except for those in the most current 12 months.

If the article you are looking for is not available through the A-Z list, then your next move is to ask for it through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary loan requests

Use our interlibrary loan (ILL) form to request resources from other libraries around the nation:

Perkins Library ILL Request