LibGuides: Engineering Research Starter: Books & Journals

eBook Collections

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is an interactive online reference and learning tool that helps engineering students access knowledge. Use it to access to over 750 texts and handbooks across a variety of engineering areas of focus. It also includes multimedia tools such as instructional videos, equations, data visualization, and more.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of eBooks. Individual titles are listed in the online catalog, but this link is the best place to search the contents of those books.

Search for Books

Search this catalog for books and other materials in the Doane Library. If our library doesn't have what you're looking for, you can switch your search to Libraries Worldwide and request materials be sent to you through InterLibrary Loan.

Journal Databases

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search this collection which includes all the databases in the sciences and technology areas such as biology, engineering, earth sciences, public health and safety, etc.
Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace, Material Science & Engineering, and Military databases, and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text for hundreds of leading scholarly journals covering a wide-array of scientific and technological subject areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 publications.

You need to use keywords and Boolean logic when searching for materials in library databases.

Keywords describe the main ideas of your research question - think nouns or short phrases instead of whole questions. Boolean logic is a way to combine your keywords to make your searches more efficient. Boolean operators include AND (narrows your search), OR (broadens your search), and NOT (excludes terms to narrow further).

Watch this short video for an overview of the best way to search in a database:

Video Length: 1:28

Used with permission from the Ronald Williams Library at Northeastern Illinois University.

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases' search boxes.

Concept 1

and

Concept 2

and

Concept 3

Name your concepts here

Search terms

List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.

Get Access

If you find an article citation without access to the full text, try one of these tips:

Go to the Journals A-Z page and use the article search tab. Fill in all the information from the article citation. If the Library has access to the article in full text, the link(s) will be listed. You may also search just for the journal title. If you search this way you will have to navigate to the correct issue as listed in the citation for the article you are looking for.
Check Google Scholar for a PDF copy of the article. Paste the full title of the article into the search box for the best results. You may find a pdf from a trusted source. You can connect your Google Scholar account to the Doane Library for links back to our collection.
First two options didn't work? Request the article through interlibrary loan! Most journal articles will be delivered via email within 1-2 business days. (Books or anything that needs to be mailed will take longer, so plan accordingly.)