LibGuides: LAR101: Rejected Rebels: Find Articles

General Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find periodical and newspaper articles in all major subject areas, including Business, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as the Humanities and Fine Arts.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search older full text articles from scholarly journals in more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers, covering virtually every subject area of general interest. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

Scientific Databases

Science and Technology Collection (Ebsco)
This database contains full text for hundreds of leading scholarly journals covering a wide-array of scientific and technological subject areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 publications.
SciTech Premium Collection
This collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
Technology Collection (ProQuest)
This collection includes the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace, Material Science & Engineering, and Military databases, and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases' search boxes.

Concept 1

and

Concept 2

and

Concept 3

Name your concepts here

Search terms

List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.

You need to use keywords and Boolean logic when searching for materials in library databases.

Keywords describe the main ideas of your research question - think nouns or short phrases instead of whole questions. Boolean logic is a way to combine your keywords to make your searches more efficient. Boolean operators include AND (narrows your search), OR (broadens your search), and NOT (excludes terms to narrow further).

Watch this short video for an overview of the best way to search in a database:

Video Length: 1:28

Used with permission from the Ronald Williams Library at Northeastern Illinois University.