Skip to Main Content
site header image

Education Doctoral Program Orientation

Major Education Databases

These are the education subject-specific databases to which the Doane library subscribes. See the list below for subject-related databases.

Databases on Related Subjects 

These databases cover subjects that may be related to education. Check the Databases A-Z list for other databases.

Staying Current: Search Alerts

One way to keep up with new research on your topic -- or a favorite professional journal -- is to create an alert within a database, such as EBSCO's Education Source. This way, you'll get an email when new articles are added to the database.
Look for the Share button in EBSCO and the Save search/alert link in ProQuest. Select how often you want the database to check for new materials and how long you want to receive updates for up to one year. Slick, huh?!

Dissertations & Theses

Want to see what other doctoral or masters students have written on your topic? This database will help you locate the majority of existing dissertations and theses.

Google Scholar: Linking to Library Resources

Expand your full text capabilities in Google Scholar by setting up links to the Perkins Library databases!

  1. Make sure you are logged into Google via your Doane email account.
  2. In Google Scholar -- https://scholar.google.com/ -- open the drop-down menu (the three horizontal lines in the upper left corner)
  3. Select Settings
  4. Select Library links
  5. Search Doane -- or Doane University -- and select all of the options: Doane University - ProQuest Fulltext and Doane University - Find it at Doane. (Open Worldcat can be selected too if you wish.)
  6. Make sure you click on Save!

Now you will be alerted when an article is available through Doane's databases. Here is an example:

Books: Print & Digital

Looking for ebooks? Search the Library catalog for your subject then limit your search to ebooks, or search one of the ebook subscription databases available through the Doane Library.
Research Methods Books
These are just a few of the reference books about education research the Library has available. Use the catalog to find others.