Skip to Main Content
site header image

Troubleshooting E-resource Issues

This guide offers answers to the most common errors our users experience when attempting to access a library database or e-resource.

Article Full Text Is Not Available

Not every article listed in our databases has full text available within the database. You may, however, discover access to the full text by doing the following:

  1. On the library's main webpage, click on the Journals A-Z tab.
  2. Enter the title of the journal, not the article title.
  3. If there is full text in another database, that database will appear on this page. 
  4. Make sure to check the volume, issue and dates included in the library subscription. If the issue you need is not included, you can use the "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button on this page to get the article from another library. See our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery page for more information.

Or, give Google Scholar a try! There's a chance the article is freely available elsewhere. To search for the article in Google Scholar you should copy and paste the article title into the search box.

Article Link Creator

Sometimes articles are available from the library but their URL doesn't allow access. Use this link creator to add the proxy to the link to see if this will resolve your problem.

1. Copy and paste the URL for the stable link here:

2.

3. Copy and use this link. This new link will work for both on- and off-campus access.

4. to generate another link.

 

Reporting Access Problems

If you continue to have access issues or any questions, please contact library@doane.edu. Be as specific as possible when describing your problem, including information on the following questions:

  • Where are you located? (e.g., at home or work, or on which one of the campuses)
    • If you are on a Doane campus, did you login with the "guest" wireless network or the "Doane" network? 
  • What are you trying to access? (e.g., name of the database, the citation for a specific article, the title of an ebook)
  • Where on the Internet are you trying to access it from? (e.g., the library catalog, the A-Z database list, link from a professor, Google Scholar)
  • What error message are you getting and at what point? (e.g., incorrect password, resource is not configured for access)
  • Which browser are you using? (e.g., Chrome, Firefox, Safari)
  • Have you cleared the browser's cache and cookies?
  • What is your IP address? (go to Google and enter "what is my IP address")
  • Are you using a VPN? 

If you have access problems within the library catalog, please use the "Report a broken link" option to report the problem.