This database is supposed to be the definitive historical documentary source for Supreme Court nominations and confirmation process for both successful and unsuccessful nominations to the Court up to Ketanji Brown Jackson. It includes confirmation hearings, presidential statements, memoranda, and more on each nominee.
You can browse by justice, document title, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, and other works concerning each person. Or, you can search for topics related to the Court and the justices.
Don't forget to check out the LibGuide for this database for help with searching and a handy "SCOTUS in HeinOnline" page that provides links to articles authored by each justice, current and past. Their articles can give you insight into their judicial philosophy and their writing style, which will be helpful when you draft your decision as the justice!
This is another trial database available this spring (until April 30). Find short biographies of current justices, analyze how justices side on opinions, and other information about how the Supreme Court works.
If you want to find everything in HeinOnline that mentions a specific Supreme Court justice, it might be best to change the first drop-down in the Search HeinOnline section to "Full Text" and enter their name.
For example, if you were researching Justice Amy Coney Barrett:
Because the results page lists everything that has any of the words in your search, you can narrow your results by selecting facets in the left column. For example, you only want resources that pertain to the person Amy Coney Barrett:
and your results only will be those that mention her in the database.
Another way to search for a specific justice and any mention of their judicial philosophy would be to search Full Text for both of these terms with the AND between them, and use quotation marks to indicate all the words must appear in that specific order (for each term):
Occasionally, the full text of an article is not available in HeinOnline. (They have a peach-colored box around them.)
If that happens we've got you covered! Just copy the citation (see above) and use it to fill out the Interlibrary Loan form. (You have to login to your account before completing the form.)
