LibGuides: Legal Research: Databases

Key Legal Databases

These databases contain various kinds of legal information, from primary sources such as case law, to secondary sources like articles in law reviews and journals, to legal forms.

HeinOnline (trial) This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides access to authoritative material from multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Relevant content is more discoverable due to artificial intelligence tools and research aids throughout the databases. NOTE: Trial ends July 2024
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search index of prestigious and comprehensive legal content. Endorsed by the The American Association of Law Libraries.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Find information such as legal forms for business, family and real estate, plus full-text consumer legal reference books and publications.

Political Science Databases

Try these databases to find articles in the political science field:

Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches databases PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA), covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
WSPA provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy -- from over 1,500 serial publications, books, dissertations and working papers

Databases for Social Sciences & Related Topics

These databases contain information related to political science or the social sciences in general:

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in all the social sciences. Select subject-specific databases for more focused searches.
Criminology Collection This link opens in a new window
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. Includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, plus indexing and full-text coverage of scholarly journals.
NCJRS Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Includes U.S. and international publications -- federal, state and local government reports -- books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Research magazine, trade and scholarly journals for articles on law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for 500+ international journals for the caring professions.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
The IBSS includes bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters in the areas of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. International in scope, incorporating material in over 100 languages.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Research significant people and events around the world and get multiple types of sources in one place: reference and academic journal articles, as well as primary source documents, images and videos.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Research articles about conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

News Databases

These databases can help you find current news articles.

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Find credible news from around the United States from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources, including the Omaha World-Herald.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. This database includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring more than 660 newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Some of the world's top newspapers included are: The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Get access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

The following databases are multi-disciplinary but may have articles on your topic not found in the databases above.

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search for sources in the social sciences, natural sciences, and humanities.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly articles in any subject area; lots of full-text articles available.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search older full text articles from scholarly journals in more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries.

Online Journals

The following journals are available electronically. See the A-Z list for other journal titles available through databases and/or in print in the Library.

Analyses of Social Issues and Public Policy Access fulltext 2001-present
Behavioral Science and Policy Access fulltext Spring 2015-1 year ago
Crime, Law and Social Change Access fulltext 1997-1 year ago
Harvard Journal of Law and Public Policy Access fulltext Winter 1994-present
Human Architecture: Journal of the Sociology of Self-Knowledge Access fulltext Spring 2002-present with exceptions
International Journal of Law in Context Access fulltext March 2005-1 year ago
International Journal of Sociology and Social Policy Access fulltext 2005-1 year ago
Journal of Law and Society Access to fulltext embargoed for 6 years
Journal of Law in Society Access to fulltext 2001-present Also available in Academic Onefile (Gale)
Journal of Legal Studies (University of Chicago) Access to fulltext 1994-present Also available in JSTOR (5 year embargo)
Journal of Social Policy Access to fulltext 2001-present (1 year delay)
Law & Social Inquiry Access fulltext 1996-present Also available in JSTOR 1988-present (6 year delay)
Law & Society Review Access fulltext 1997-present
Law and Human Behavior Access to fulltext 1977-present
Legal Studies Forum Access fulltext 2012-present
Modern Law Review Access fulltext 1937-6 years ago
Northwestern Journal of Law and Social Policy Access fulltext Fall 2013-present
Oxford Journal of Legal Studies Access fulltext 1981-6 years ago
Social Policy and Society Access fulltext 2002-1 year ago
Social Problems Access fulltext 1953-present

Legal Research

Google Scholar

DON'T PAY FOR ARTICLES!

Key Legal Databases

These databases contain various kinds of legal information, from primary sources such as case law, to secondary sources like articles in law reviews and journals, to legal forms.

Political Science Databases

Try these databases to find articles in the political science field:

Databases for Social Sciences & Related Topics

These databases contain information related to political science or the social sciences in general:

News Databases

These databases can help you find current news articles.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

The following databases are multi-disciplinary but may have articles on your topic not found in the databases above.

Online Journals