Music Education

"This work is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various educational topics. This volume offers an introduction to the elements of educational psychology, including an overview of some of the psychological theories and applications that have had the most impact on the field of education."

"This 3-volume set includes a wide range of important issues and debate topics surrounding education in America today. From Gender Issues and Diversity Education to Funding and Parental Involvement, these information-packed entries provide students and researchers with a wide variety of ways to examine the education system in America."

This comprehensive reference addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. (Link is for volume 1; locate other volumes within the platform.)

"This handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs. This volume explores the significant changes in music and arts education that have taken place in the last decade. Covering a broad range of topics and addressing the issues of music education at all age levels, from early childhood to motivation and self-regulation, this handbook is an invaluable resource for music teachers, researchers, and scholars."

The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volume 2: Applications brings together the best and most current research on best practice for music learning, focusing squarely on the profession's empirical and conceptual knowledge of how students gain competence in music at various ages and in different contexts. The collection of chapters, written by the foremost figures active in the field, addresses a range of best practices for approaching current and important areas in the field, including cognition and perception, music listening, vocal/choral learning, and the needs of special learners. The book's companion volume, Strategies, provides the solid theoretical framework and extensive research upon which these practices stand.Throughout both volumes in this essential set, focus is placed on the musical knowledge and musical skills needed to perform, create, understand, reflect on, enjoy, value, and respond to music. A key point of emphasis rests on the relationship between music learning and finding meaning in music, and as music technology plays an increasingly important role in learning today, chapters move beyond exclusively formal classroom instruction into other forms of systematic learning and informal instruction. Either individually or paired with its companion Volume 1: Strategies, this indispensable overview of this growing area of inquiry will appeal to students and scholars in Music Education, as well as front-line music educators in the classroom.

Irma Collins's Dictionary of Music Education is more than just a lexicon. It is a journey through time and the story of the evolution of music education, including entries on notable individuals, crucial terms, important events, and key organizations--a broad survey of the field. Collins includes information about a variety of English-speaking countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia, emphasizing the impact music education researchers and organizations have had on one another across the globe. Biographical entries profile musicians and music educators who were among the founders or first implementers of significant pedagogical tools and methods. Terms include standard concepts in the field of music education. Event and organization entries are those crucial to the advancement of music education regionally, nationally, and internationally. Dictionary of Music Education also includes a timeline, cross-references, and a significant bibliography. This work will interest anyone involved in the field of music education, from students and faculty to administrators and private instructors.

Designed for music teachers, students, and scholars of music education, as well as educational administrators and policy makers, this book provides a framework for understanding the content and context of music education, and for future action within the profession. A broad examination of the philosophical, psychological, cultural, international, and contextual issues that underpin a wide variety of teaching environments or individual attributes is paired with 25 relevant and insightful commentaries from established scholars and music educators. Taken as a whole, Music and Music Education in People's Lives gives clear direction to how the discipline of music education can achieve even greater political, theoretical and professional strength.

Designed for music teachers, students, and scholars of music education, as well as educational administrators and policy makers, this book explores a broad array of key issues, concepts, and debates related to music learning and teaching in three phases of a child's development. The first section provides an expanded view of infancy and early childhood, embracing a key theme that most young children's early music-making is improvised and used to communicate with others and the self. The second section is devoted to the learning and teaching of music during the middle years of childhood, when music is often a mandated part of the school curriculum. While recognizing the enormous cultural and national differences, chapters in this section give an overview of many varied and innovative forms of musical learning and teaching globally. The third section focuses on the musical experiences and development of adolescents aged 12 to 18.

Designed for music teachers, students, and scholars of music education, as well as educational administrators and policy makers, this fourth book in the set focuses on issues and topics that help to broaden conceptions of music and musical involvement, while recognizing that development occurs through many forms. The first section addresses music education for those with special abilities and special needs; authors explore many of the pertinent issues that can promote or hinder learners who share characteristics, and delve deep into what it means to be musical. The second section of the volume addresses music as a shared, community experience, and the diverse and constantly evolving international practice of community music. The chapters in the third section provide evidence that the process of music education exists as a lifelong continuum that encompasses informal, formal, and non-formal methods alike. The authors encourage music educators to think in terms of a music learning society, where adult education is not peripheral to the priority of other age groups, but is instead fully integral to a vision for the good of society. By developing sound pedagogical approaches that are tailored to take account of all learners, the volume endeavors to move from making individual adaptations towards designing sensitive 'universal' solutions.

Designed for music teachers, students, and scholars of music education, as well as educational administrators and policy makers, this book comprises three complementary sections: musical creativity as practice; music teaching and learning through technology; and the interplay of media, music, and education. The first section reviews notions of musical creativity, examining practice-based perspectives to support and develop understanding of the diverse types of creativity found within music education practice across the globe. In the second section, authors explore the essential role of technology in musical discourse and in various forms of musical learning, even as technology continually evolves and the needs and possibilities continue to rapidly change. The third section provokes readers to assess their own thinking about the transformative changes occurring within the discipline as a result of advances in media, and the increasing infiltration of media into all aspects of life, the classroom, and music making.

This book presents an approach to conceptualizing and utilizing technology as a tool for music learning. Designed for use by pre- and in-service music teachers, it provides the essential understandings required to become an adaptive expert with music technology, creating and implementing lessons, units, and curriculum that take advantage of technological affordances to assist students in developing their musicianship. The philosophical and theoretical rationales, along with the practical information discussed in the book, are applicable to all experience levels. However, the technological applications described are focused at a beginning to intermediate level, relevant to both pre-service and in-service music educators and their students.

Music education takes place in many contexts, both formal and informal. Be it in a school or music studio, while making music with friends or family, or even while travelling in a car, walking through a shopping mall or watching television, our myriad sonic experiences accumulate from the earliest months of life to foster our facility for making sense of the sound worlds in which we live. The Oxford Handbook of Music Education offers a comprehensive overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts. In the first volume, an international list of contributors discuss a range of key issues and concepts associated with music learning and teaching. The volume then focuses on these processes as they take place during childhood, from infancy through adolescence and primarily in the school-age years. Exploring how children across the globe learn and make music and the skills and attributes gained when they do so, these chapters examine the means through which music educators can best meet young people's musical needs. The second volume of the set brings the exploration beyond the classroom and into later life.

Music education thrives on philosophical inquiry, the systematic and critical examination of beliefs and assumptions. Yet philosophy, often considered abstract and irrelevant, is often absent from the daily life of music instructors. The contributors to this volume address everyday concerns faced by music educators everywhere, demonstrating that philosophy offers a way of navigating the daily professional life of music education and proving that critical inquiry improves, enriches, and transforms instructional practice for the better. Questioning every musical practice, instructional aim, assumption, and conviction in music education, this book presents new and provocative approaches to the practice of teaching music. It goes deeper than mere advocacy or a single point of view but rather conceives of philosophy as a dynamic process of debate and reflection that must constantly evolve to meet the shifting landscapes of music education. In place of the definitive answers often associated with philosophical work, it offers a fascinating cross-section of often-contradictory approaches and viewpoints. By bringing together essays by both established and up-and-coming scholars from six continents, this book goes beyond the Western monopoly of philosophical practice and acknowledge the diversity of cultures, instructors, and students who take part in music education. This range of perspectives invites broader participation in music instruction, and presents alternative answers to many of the fields most pressing questions and issues. By acknowledging the inherent plurality of music educational practices, the Handbook opens up the field in new and important ways. Emphasizing clarify, fairness, rigor, and utility above all, this volume challenges music educators around the world to make their own decisions and ultimately contribute to the conversation themselves.