Current News Sources - HIS 342 / PSI 342 - U.S. and the Middle East

In-class activity

Exploring Databases

Evaluating Sources

YPG Attack Kills Six Civilians in Syria's Afrin
Shelling Kills Four People in Syria's Afrin

Middle East Newspapers

This list is a sampling of Middle East news sources found in the International Newsstream database.

Middle East News Agencies on the Internet

A simple way to find news from Middle Eastern countries is to search in Wikipedia for: "[country] news agencies" e.g., Iranian news agencies. The websites for the agencies are likely to have an English translation button, or you can use Google's translate feature.

Dr. Jarvis also recommends the following website to find international news in the English language:

World-Newspapers.com

News Media Transcripts

These databases also include broadcast transcripts from news sources other than newspapers, such as national television news programs.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Find law-related resources such as court decisions and law reviews, plus news and business information.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Get access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.

Newspaper Sources

These databases include newspaper sources from the United States as well as countries around the world.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Doane community members have full-text access to the New York Times' internationally acclaimed multimedia journalism. Account creation required. Instructions available at: http://libguides.doane.edu/NYTimes
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. This database includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring more than 660 newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Some of the world's top newspapers included are: The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Get access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Find credible news from around the nation from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources, including the Omaha World-Herald.
This database replaces the library's subscription to Access World News. Go to International Newsstream -- via ProQuest Central -- to search news sources from other countries.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Find law-related resources such as court decisions and law reviews, plus news and business information.

News Magazines

The Doane Library has access to many periodicals that report international news. Here are a few suggested titles:

The Atlantic
This is the full color fulltext digital format of the current issue through Flipster. If you'd like to search within the magazine for particular articles or subjects, use Journal Finder to see which databases provide full text.
more...less...
NOTE: This magazine has had many iterations of its name, so you'll find it under Atlantic, as well as Atlantic Monthly and Atlantic, The
The Economist
When searching for articles in this magazine be very careful that you are searching The Economist. There are other magazines with the same title; this one has the ISSN 0013-0613‎.
Foreign Affairs
New York Times Magazine
The New Yorker
Newsweek
The library has older issues in print on the lower level.
TIME Magazine
The library has older issues in print before 2015 if you need historical articles.

Other periodicals may be available through the library databases.

Bias in News

Is all media biased? In some ways, yes, but you can work around biased reporting by finding different sides of the story from various sources. This chart from AllSides.com shows the political leanings of some American media sources. Check out AllSides.com to determine the biases that occur in media reporting.